The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I need help with this one... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59034-i-need-help-one.html)

tref Thu Sep 09, 2010 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691623)
What does my post have to do with catching the ball? It is about ending the dribble. So why say 'by this logic' when I am talking about dribbling and you are talking about catching the ball? As you know, the rules are very specific to each.

The dribble has ended when the ball is caught, so the two do go hand in hand. The key is to know when the dribble ended, where the player was when they ended the dribble, how they landed & most importantly what the player is allowed to do in each situation.


BTW, the player you were arguing with in your wreck league was correct.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 09, 2010 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 691660)
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.

Incorrect.

The REAL rule is that you can't start a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. If you've not yet established a pivot foot, you havn't lifted it.

So, an airborne player who starts a dribble has only traveled if they had previously been on the floor while in control of the ball AND had established a pivot foot (which might not always be the case). In this case, the player caught the ball in the air, then started the dribble, then landed....LEGAL.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 09, 2010 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 691660)
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.

You're completely wrong by rule.

NFHS casebook play 4.15.1SitA(b)
While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control, after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble.
RULING: Legal. The dribble does not start until A1 has gained control.

Legal under NCAA rules also.

Camron gave the correct rationale.

Think of the play where A1 passes to A2 and A2 tips the ball to the floor without gaining possession and then dribbles away. A2 never established a pivot foot. Would you really call this traveling? :eek:

btaylor64 Thu Sep 09, 2010 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 691671)
You're completely wrong by rule.

NFHS casebook play 4.15.1SitA(b)
While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control, after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble.
RULING: Legal. The dribble does not start until A1 has gained control.

Legal under NCAA rules also.

Camron gave the correct rationale.

Think of the play where A1 passes to A2 and A2 tips the ball to the floor without gaining possession and then dribbles away. A2 never established a pivot foot. Would you really call this traveling? :eek:

You are absolutely right. I apologize for being wrong!

CLH Thu Sep 09, 2010 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 691676)
you are absolutely right. I apologize for being wrong!

don't let it happen again!!

Nevadaref Fri Sep 10, 2010 02:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691593)
If a player is dribbling and jumps in the air and ends their dribble and lands simultaneously on two feet then it is either a legal jump stop or a travel(non-legal jump stop). There can be no pivoting(legally) after dribble then jump in the air and ending the dribble and then landing simultaneously on two feet.

100% wrong. You should contact the camp that you attended and ask for a refund. They didn't teach you correctly.

Adam Fri Sep 10, 2010 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 691664)
BTW, the player you were arguing with in your wreck league was correct.

Are you saying it's a travel violation for a player to catch the ball in the air, dribble once, collect the ball, then land?

tref Fri Sep 10, 2010 09:55am

I was... I stand corrected :D
No pivot, no travel.

Adam Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 691733)
I was... I stand corrected :D
No pivot, no travel.

heh :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1