The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I need help with this one... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59034-i-need-help-one.html)

scooter2 Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:46am

I need help with this one...
 
Page 38, Section 44, Art. 2 reads as follows:
A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1 Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.

The situation I saw was as follows:
Player A was leading the break and came to a jump stop with BOTH feet hitting simultaneously at the foul line. He was going to pass, but instead opted not to, and reverse pivoted before passing the ball back outside to a teammate. The referee called traveling on Player A.

The rule seems to state that this should NOT have been traveling. Is this traveling or not?

grunewar Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:56am

Perhaps the referee saw this:

b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both.
Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

So, if you saw both feet off the floor, you could be correct. However, the official might have seen it as above with one foot on the floor, and in that case, he would be correct.

hoopguy Tue Sep 07, 2010 03:40pm

jump stop
 
The first part of the play you describe is called a jump stop. That part is legal. What is not legal is pivoting from the jump stop. At camp, this was referred to as a 'jump stop extra' and is a travel. In addition to what grunewar states, check out case play 4.44.2

mbyron Wed Sep 08, 2010 06:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by scooter2 (Post 691396)
Page 38, Section 44, Art. 2 reads as follows:
A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1 Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.

The situation I saw was as follows:
Player A was leading the break and came to a jump stop with BOTH feet hitting simultaneously at the foul line. He was going to pass, but instead opted not to, and reverse pivoted before passing the ball back outside to a teammate. The referee called traveling on Player A.

The rule seems to state that this should NOT have been traveling. Is this traveling or not?

The rule you're quoting refers to the play where a player who is in the air catches the ball and then lands on both feet. Either foot may be the pivot in that case.

The play you describe is a jump stop by a player already in possession of the ball. That player cannot pivot after the jump stop.

bob jenkins Wed Sep 08, 2010 07:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691431)
The first part of the play you describe is called a jump stop. That part is legal. What is not legal is pivoting from the jump stop.

There are two types of "jump stops." After one, the player can pivot; after the other, the player cannot.

vbzebra Wed Sep 08, 2010 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 691489)
There are two types of "jump stops." After one, the player can pivot; after the other, the player cannot.


So would it be fair to say that when a player is in the air w/o posession, catches the ball, jumpstops on both feet, either foot may be pivot...BUT when a player is dribbling and already has posession, jump stops on both feet, NEITHER foot can pe pivot?

APG Wed Sep 08, 2010 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vbzebra (Post 691543)
So would it be fair to say that when a player is in the air w/o posession, catches the ball, jumpstops on both feet, either foot may be pivot...BUT when a player is dribbling and already has posession, jump stops on both feet, NEITHER foot can pe pivot?

If the player ends the dribble with a foot on the floor, jumps, and lands simultaneously on both feet, then the player may NOT pivot. If the player ends the dribble with both feet off the floor, and lands simultaneously with both feet, then the player may pivot with either foot. This is the version of the jump stop I see most often and I think the version most coaches teach their kids. It's all a matter of determining when the dribble was ended.

hoopguy Thu Sep 09, 2010 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 691549)
If the player ends the dribble with a foot on the floor, jumps, and lands simultaneously on both feet, then the player may NOT pivot. If the player ends the dribble with both feet off the floor, and lands simultaneously with both feet, then the player may pivot with either foot. This is the version of the jump stop I see most often and I think the version most coaches teach their kids. It's all a matter of determining when the dribble was ended.


If a player is dribbling and jumps in the air and ends their dribble and lands simultaneously on two feet then it is either a legal jump stop or a travel(non-legal jump stop). There can be no pivoting(legally) after dribble then jump in the air and ending the dribble and then landing simultaneously on two feet.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 09, 2010 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691593)
If a player is dribbling and jumps in the air and ends their dribble and lands simultaneously on two feet then it is either a legal jump stop <font color = red>or a travel(non-legal jump stop). There can be no pivoting(legally) after dribble then jump in the air and ending the dribble and then landing simultaneously on two feet.</font>

Say what?:confused:

NFHS rule 4-44-2(a)..."A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows: (a1) If both feet are off the floor and the player lands simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot."

Best re-think that one. You're wrong.

APG Thu Sep 09, 2010 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691593)
If a player is dribbling and jumps in the air and ends their dribble and lands simultaneously on two feet then it is either a legal jump stop or a travel(non-legal jump stop).

If a player dribbles and ends his dribble while both feet are in the air, he'll either land simultaneously on both feet and be allowed to pivot on either foot, or one foot will come down before the other and will establish one foot or the other as a pivot foot (or thirdly he'll land on one foot, jump off that foot, and land simultaneously on both feet or else be called for traveling).

Adam Thu Sep 09, 2010 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691593)
If a player is dribbling and jumps in the air and ends their dribble and lands simultaneously on two feet then it is either a legal jump stop or a travel(non-legal jump stop). There can be no pivoting(legally) after dribble then jump in the air and ending the dribble and then landing simultaneously on two feet.

So by this logic, what happens when a player catches the ball in the air and lands on both feet, but not simultaneously?

Mark Padgett Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 691605)
So by this logic, what happens when a player catches the ball in the air and lands on both feet, but not simultaneously?

And what about when a player catches the ball in the air and lands on his butt? Does he have to establish a pivot cheek? :o

hoopguy Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 691605)
So by this logic, what happens when a player catches the ball in the air and lands on both feet, but not simultaneously?

What does my post have to do with catching the ball? It is about ending the dribble. So why say 'by this logic' when I am talking about dribbling and you are talking about catching the ball? As you know, the rules are very specific to each.

Back to my point. I guess I am unclear as to how the player can end the dribble while in the air. What I picture is the player taking his last dribble and jumping to pass or shoot or finish his move with his jump stop or take his steps to the basket. I can't really picture a player dribbling while in the air. I guess in theory this is possible.

edit;
Just thought of this. About one year ago, I was playing in a pick-up game. Shot went up and player A rebounded and while still in the air, he dribbled the ball and then caught it and then landed. No idea why he did this but it fits perfectly in this post and is legal and now the player can pivot using either foot. I actually got into an argument with another player about this, because it looked so weird the other player said it was a travel and he could not come down with ball. I argued that he could.

Now, if this ever occurs in a game I am reffing, I know he can come down with the ball and pivot with either foot:)

I admit being wrong but it is a very weird play.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691623)
Back to my point. I guess I am unclear as to how the player can end the dribble while in the air.

Again, it's clearly delineated in the rules. As per NFHS rule 4-15-4, the dribble ends when the dribbler catches the ball or causes it to come to rest in one or both hands. And if the dribbler does that while he's airborne, he's now governed by the rule cited above--rule 4-44-2(a). If he now lands simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot. If he lands on one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot. If he lands on one foot, he can jump off that foot and land simultaneously on both feet but neither foot can never be the pivot.

Rule 4-44-2(b) tells you what to call when a player ends a dribble while having one foot on the floor.

If you forget about what a "jump stop" is supposed to be and simply learn those rules, you'll never have a problem getting the call right.

AllPurposeGamer gave you the correct answers.

btaylor64 Thu Sep 09, 2010 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691623)
What does my post have to do with catching the ball? It is about ending the dribble. So why say 'by this logic' when I am talking about dribbling and you are talking about catching the ball? As you know, the rules are very specific to each.

Back to my point. I guess I am unclear as to how the player can end the dribble while in the air. What I picture is the player taking his last dribble and jumping to pass or shoot or finish his move with his jump stop or take his steps to the basket. I can't really picture a player dribbling while in the air. I guess in theory this is possible.

edit;
Just thought of this. About one year ago, I was playing in a pick-up game. Shot went up and player A rebounded and while still in the air, he dribbled the ball and then caught it and then landed. No idea why he did this but it fits perfectly in this post and is legal and now the player can pivot using either foot. I actually got into an argument with another player about this, because it looked so weird the other player said it was a travel and he could not come down with ball. I argued that he could.

Now, if this ever occurs in a game I am reffing, I know he can come down with the ball and pivot with either foot:)

I admit being wrong but it is a very weird play.


Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.

tref Thu Sep 09, 2010 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691623)
What does my post have to do with catching the ball? It is about ending the dribble. So why say 'by this logic' when I am talking about dribbling and you are talking about catching the ball? As you know, the rules are very specific to each.

The dribble has ended when the ball is caught, so the two do go hand in hand. The key is to know when the dribble ended, where the player was when they ended the dribble, how they landed & most importantly what the player is allowed to do in each situation.


BTW, the player you were arguing with in your wreck league was correct.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 09, 2010 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 691660)
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.

Incorrect.

The REAL rule is that you can't start a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. If you've not yet established a pivot foot, you havn't lifted it.

So, an airborne player who starts a dribble has only traveled if they had previously been on the floor while in control of the ball AND had established a pivot foot (which might not always be the case). In this case, the player caught the ball in the air, then started the dribble, then landed....LEGAL.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 09, 2010 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 691660)
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.

You're completely wrong by rule.

NFHS casebook play 4.15.1SitA(b)
While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control, after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble.
RULING: Legal. The dribble does not start until A1 has gained control.

Legal under NCAA rules also.

Camron gave the correct rationale.

Think of the play where A1 passes to A2 and A2 tips the ball to the floor without gaining possession and then dribbles away. A2 never established a pivot foot. Would you really call this traveling? :eek:

btaylor64 Thu Sep 09, 2010 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 691671)
You're completely wrong by rule.

NFHS casebook play 4.15.1SitA(b)
While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control, after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble.
RULING: Legal. The dribble does not start until A1 has gained control.

Legal under NCAA rules also.

Camron gave the correct rationale.

Think of the play where A1 passes to A2 and A2 tips the ball to the floor without gaining possession and then dribbles away. A2 never established a pivot foot. Would you really call this traveling? :eek:

You are absolutely right. I apologize for being wrong!

CLH Thu Sep 09, 2010 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 691676)
you are absolutely right. I apologize for being wrong!

don't let it happen again!!

Nevadaref Fri Sep 10, 2010 02:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 691593)
If a player is dribbling and jumps in the air and ends their dribble and lands simultaneously on two feet then it is either a legal jump stop or a travel(non-legal jump stop). There can be no pivoting(legally) after dribble then jump in the air and ending the dribble and then landing simultaneously on two feet.

100% wrong. You should contact the camp that you attended and ask for a refund. They didn't teach you correctly.

Adam Fri Sep 10, 2010 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 691664)
BTW, the player you were arguing with in your wreck league was correct.

Are you saying it's a travel violation for a player to catch the ball in the air, dribble once, collect the ball, then land?

tref Fri Sep 10, 2010 09:55am

I was... I stand corrected :D
No pivot, no travel.

Adam Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 691733)
I was... I stand corrected :D
No pivot, no travel.

heh :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1