The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 37
I'm glad that you guys are having this discussion

Last season I had a play where A1 was dribbling, decided to cross over, but instead of crossing over with a dribble, he just changed hands with the ball (it was an intramural game so you can guess at the skill level of the player). During the changing of hands, B1 reached in and touched the ball, but it did not cause A1 to lose control of the ball. As soon as he took another dribble, I called the illegal dribble violation. He looked at me and said, "but he touched it."

Later I asked an official who was my senior if I had made the wrong call with the touch, and he said yes, "the dribble ends if the ball is touched by an opponent."

This post clarifies a lot for me, and lets me know that I made the right call originally.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 09:43am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornets222003 View Post
I'm glad that you guys are having this discussion

Last season I had a play where A1 was dribbling, decided to cross over, but instead of crossing over with a dribble, he just changed hands with the ball (it was an intramural game so you can guess at the skill level of the player). During the changing of hands, B1 reached in and touched the ball, but it did not cause A1 to lose control of the ball. As soon as he took another dribble, I called the illegal dribble violation. He looked at me and said, "but he touched it."

Later I asked an official who was my senior if I had made the wrong call with the touch, and he said yes, "the dribble ends if the ball is touched by an opponent."

This post clarifies a lot for me, and lets me know that I made the right call originally.

I'm confused. At what point did A1 end his dribble so that an illegal dribble would be called?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 09:58am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
I have never seen a player dribble the ball and have an opponent (especially purposely) touch the ball and not lose some control of the ball. Now I guess it is your judgment if control is lost, but I have yet to see this. Then again I do not officiate intermural ball, so I am sure all kinds of things take place there I will never see.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 10:57am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm confused. At what point did A1 end his dribble so that an illegal dribble would be called?
I think...emphasis on "think"....that he's saying that A1 touched the ball with both hands during the same dribble, with one touch each before and after the defensive touch.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
I think...emphasis on "think"....that he's saying that A1 touched the ball with both hands during the same dribble, with one touch each before and after the defensive touch.
That is exactly what happened.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 12:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
I think...emphasis on "think"....that he's saying that A1 touched the ball with both hands during the same dribble, with one touch each before and after the defensive touch.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornets222003 View Post
That is exactly what happened.
This makes my brain hurt.
Did A1 catch the ball after B1 touched it, then proceed to start a new dribble?
I'm trying to picture JR's scenario, and I can't imagine the sort of ball movement necessary for that to happen would not cause me to consider control lost, even momentarily.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 01:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
This makes my brain hurt.
Did A1 catch the ball after B1 touched it, then proceed to start a new dribble?
I'm trying to picture JR's scenario, and I can't imagine the sort of ball movement necessary for that to happen would not cause me to consider control lost, even momentarily.
A1 was dribbling with his right hand.....B1 touched the ball during this dribble after the ball left the dribbler's right hand but the touch did not cause A1 to lose control....A1 then touched the ball with his left hand after the defensive touch but before the dribbled ball hit the floor. Iow, A1 touched the ball twice during the same dribble. Always a judgment call but if the official rules that the defensive touching didn't cause the dribbler to lose control, then the dribble never ended and the dribbler is called for touching the ball twice during the same dribble. Correct call by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 01:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
A1 was dribbling with his right hand.....B1 touched the ball during this dribble after the ball left the dribbler's right hand but the touch did not cause A1 to lose control....A1 then touched the ball with his left hand after the defensive touch but before the dribbled ball hit the floor. Iow, A1 touched the ball twice during the same dribble. Always a judgment call but if the official rules that the defensive touching didn't cause the dribbler to lose control, then the dribble never ended and the dribbler is called for touching the ball twice during the same dribble. Correct call by rule.
Okay, I'm picturing this now. I'm with Rut, only in intramural ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top Eleven Tim Donaghy Pleas For A Lighter Sentence Mark Padgett Basketball 1 Sat Nov 29, 2008 01:23pm
Finish this sentence Mark Padgett Basketball 21 Wed Jan 02, 2002 11:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1