![]() |
|
|
|||
I see a problem. If judged that A1 gather the ball for a shot attempt and (Continous Motion) came into play (IN JUDGEMENT) and A1 GOT foul. Would that be considered a shooting foul after A1 gathered the ball for a shot attempt and return back to the floor?
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Determining the act of shooting involves a judgment decision by an official. Determining traveling does not. Traveling is based simply upon foot movement. All the official does is observe it.
|
|
|||
Same scenario except
a. defender blocks the shot and A1 is unable to release the shot and returns to the floor with both feet b. its a legal jump stop that the defender grabs and then A1 lands legally on both feet and regains sole control of the ball so by some of your description NEITHER of these is a jump ball?
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Thanks for all the good discussion.
Some of these latter posts are getting to the heart of the matter: there are some interesting implications if it's not a travel. I, frankly, think the jump stop should not be allowed. It's too difficult to officiate (we've got to watch the defender [referee the defense] and still observe if the feet come down simulateously, the offense already has enough advantage in this game - they don't need another move at their disposal, and per this discussion, a smart coach and player could use the rule as its written to a tremendous advantage. |
|
|||
I do think intent plays a roll in this call. I personally have a jump ball in scenario A that I gave and I do believe its a travel. The jump stop was never intended in how the OP phrased his question and in this case I would dare any of you officials NOT call this a travel at camp, or in any game of any importance.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
b. Judgment call. It depends on whether or not "undue roughness" was needed to regain control.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I dont see how you can argue 2 different things here when you dont think this is a travel to begin with. If b is a judgement call to you then so should a.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
In the first case, an airborne player was prevented from releasing a shot. By definition, this is clearly a held ball. In the second, no mention is made of a shot attempt, so presumably the defender simply grabbed or attempted to grab the ball out of the hands of the offensive player. Held ball or not? Judgment call. The jump stop is irrelevant here.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
I have a difficult time answering b. because your writing isn't clear. Was A1 airborne and attempting a try or pass which was prevented from being released? If so, then that would be a held ball as well, but if A1 was merely holding the ball and never tried to pass or shoot, then it wouldn't be a held ball as clearly control was able to be established without undue roughness. BTW the proper term is held ball. A jump ball is when the referee tosses the ball in the center circle. |
|
|||
Quote:
Come on!! we all know that calling traveling or not is a judgement call under normal game situation. This is why so many traveling calls are missed..
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
But the travel itself, by definition, is not a judgment call. Did the player move his foot illegally or didn't he?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Let's consider an OOB violation. There is no judgment involved in making this call. Either the player was observed contacting the OOB area or he wasn't. Or it is a simple matter of determining which player touched the ball last before it went OOB. These are factual decisions, not judgment decisions. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Reading is fundamental and you're mis-reading the question asked in the original post. I'm also done repeating myself with rules citations, including a case book play(4.44.3SitB&C) that contradicts you and is a duplicate of the situation described in the original post. I have seen nothing cited from anybody that would make me change my mind either. Carry on carrying on. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jul 15, 2010 at 05:46am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Jump Ball - "Need to Get Away?" | Fritz | Basketball | 19 | Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:06pm |
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight | pizanno | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am |
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? | PAT THE REF | Baseball | 60 | Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm |