The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Airborne A1 catches a pass from A2. Before returning either foot to the floor, A1 starts a dribble? Is this a trvael or not? I can't find anything in the casebook saying it is. But the pivot foot hasn't been established and it's obviously not in contact with the floor. Thanks for any help.
What constitutes a travel?

...Lifting the pivot foot before starting a dribble.

Since A1 can catch the ball, land, pivot, then start a dribble, why would it be a violation to start a dribble earlier. A1 has not lifted a pivot foot....in fact, they haven't established a pivot foot.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airborne Player Catching a Pass Spence Basketball 4 Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:07am
Airborne Receiver NWMichiganRef Football 12 Fri Sep 05, 2008 09:24am
no airborne shooter Junker Basketball 24 Sun Jan 14, 2007 06:34pm
Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter SDREGIIBB Basketball 8 Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm
Airborne shooter RookieDude Basketball 18 Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1