The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   airborne player--travel or no? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58374-airborne-player-travel-no.html)

JS 20 Thu Jun 10, 2010 09:54pm

airborne player--travel or no?
 
Airborne A1 catches a pass from A2. Before returning either foot to the floor, A1 starts a dribble? Is this a trvael or not? I can't find anything in the casebook saying it is. But the pivot foot hasn't been established and it's obviously not in contact with the floor. Thanks for any help.

BktBallRef Thu Jun 10, 2010 09:59pm

No, it's not traveling. It's traveling if you are holding the ball and lift the pivot foot before begiining the dribble. He didn't lift the foot before starting the dribble. He didn't even have a pivot foot when he started his dribble. He was already off the floor.

Camron Rust Thu Jun 10, 2010 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS 20 (Post 681427)
Airborne A1 catches a pass from A2. Before returning either foot to the floor, A1 starts a dribble? Is this a trvael or not? I can't find anything in the casebook saying it is. But the pivot foot hasn't been established and it's obviously not in contact with the floor. Thanks for any help.

What constitutes a travel?

...Lifting the pivot foot before starting a dribble.

Since A1 can catch the ball, land, pivot, then start a dribble, why would it be a violation to start a dribble earlier. A1 has not lifted a pivot foot....in fact, they haven't established a pivot foot.

BktBallRef Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:00pm

Beat cha to it. :)

bainsey Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:15pm

In a strangely similar vein, JS, let's say A1 is lying prone, holding the ball, with neither foot touching the floor (no pivot foot). A1 starts a dribble, and gets up while doing so.

This is a legal move.

Camron Rust Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 681430)
Beat cha to it. :)

Indeed you did. Do I owe you royalties?:p

GoodwillRef Fri Jun 11, 2010 08:19am

Case book page 36 4.44.3 Situation B...it isnt the same play but read the ruling.

BktBallRef Fri Jun 11, 2010 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 681448)
Indeed you did. Do I owe you royalties?:p

Just a Coke. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1