The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A2's touch could have just as well been an attempt to keep it away from B2 without any regard to the direction.

Imagine a brief tussle for the ball where B2 is trying to pull the ball form A2...in directions just the opposite of your scenario...but brief enough to not warrant a held ball....and the both lose it at the same time.

It could have also been a scramble for a loose ball that just happened to squirt out of a pile of players to the backcourt having last touched a player on each team at the same time.
Thus the reason at the end of the post I said I would have to see it to call it.
I agree with you 100% that different actions may get you different results. That is why in looking at the big picture, IE what happened prior to player/ball contact, will have a lot to do with the resulting call for a violation or the no call.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 08:44pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
As for the OP, realistically, simultaneous touch = I don't know who touched it last = no violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
On BI, the ball becomes dead. So, if A (or B) commits BI, and then B (or A) also touches the ball in the cylinder..., the second touching is ignored. But if they both touch the ball simultaneously ...

Of, if A and B enter the lane simultaneously on a FT ....

Can we use the same principles in the play at hand?

(I'd like to see the OP ruled the same as simultaneously touching the ball before it goes OOB -- use the arrow -- but that clearly isn't supported by the current rule)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 09:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
On BI, the ball becomes dead. So, if A (or B) commits BI, and then B (or A) also touches the ball in the cylinder..., the second touching is ignored. But if they both touch the ball simultaneously ...

Of, if A and B enter the lane simultaneously on a FT ....

Can we use the same principles in the play at hand?

(I'd like to see the OP ruled the same as simultaneously touching the ball before it goes OOB -- use the arrow -- but that clearly isn't supported by the current rule)
The 2 instances cited above involve dual violations--simultaneously committed by either team. In the OP, only team A could possibly be called for a violation. Imo, that's why you can't apply the same principles. Different animals.

We also know that simultaneous touching on a loose ball does not end team control either by rule, so that has to be considered also.

Again, jmo but I think that by using a strict reading of R9-1, the criteria for a backcourt violation are met by the OP. If I had to defend that call in writing, there's nothing else I can think of to defend any different ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 10:38am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
We also know that simultaneous touching on a loose ball does not end team control either by rule, so that has to be considered also.
Does individual touching by the defensive team end team control? Apples and oranges here, I think.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 12:59pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Does individual touching by the defensive team end team control? Apples and oranges here, I think.
Touching by anyone does not end team control after that team control was obtained. That includes simultaneous touching by the offense and defense. That was my point....and I'm missing your point. It is....?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:10pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Touching by anyone does not end team control after that team control was obtained. That includes simultaneous touching by the offense and defense. That was my point....and I'm missing your point. It is....?
I was trying to point out to him that a deflection by anyone doesn't end team control. It appears you "got it". He wanted to know if team control ended on the deflection.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt question zm1283 Basketball 10 Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:28pm
Backcourt Question JMUplayer Basketball 54 Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:47pm
another backcourt question missinglink Basketball 10 Fri Jan 05, 2007 05:32pm
Backcourt Question TussAgee11 Basketball 11 Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:23pm
Another backcourt question ken roberts Basketball 6 Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1