The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Word from on high...

Ran the original sitch by our State rules interpreter...

the tersely worded answer favored the 'spirited' approach.....

Have no response yet to my request for a rules cite...

Hoodathunk??
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:46pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Ran the original sitch by our State rules interpreter...

the tersely worded answer favored the 'spirited' approach.....

Have no response yet to my request for a rules cite...

And I wouldn't be expecting one anytime soon.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 02:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Ran the original sitch by our State rules interpreter...

the tersely worded answer favored the 'spirited' approach.....

Have no response yet to my request for a rules cite...

Hoodathunk??
Time for you to have some fun, Justa.....

Iirc, the question was when to start a 10-second count when the ball goes into the backcourt after team control was obtained in the frontcourt, correct?

Ask your state rules interpreter if his personal definition of what the the "spirit and intent of a rule" is can supercede a definitive ruling issued by the NFHS rules committee.

From the 2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations as posted on the NFHS website:

SITUATION #8
A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing towards the endline in A's backcourt when A1 and B1 give chase. B1 & A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A1's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin for team A?
RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball GOES INTO THE BACKCOURT since team control has not ended(4-12-3; 9-8).


Here's the link:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

Lah me......

Kinda sad when a state rules interpreter issues a ruling that is completely contradictory to a definitive NFHS ruling.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue May 25, 2010 at 02:55pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Rules Regarding "Tucked In" Jerseys. BearBoy Football 5 Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:09pm
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" Dakota Softball 8 Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1