The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 07:08am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Under all major codes in the USA, you would issue a double technical foul. You would NOT shoot free throw for the technical fouls. Double fouls go to the point of interruption, which in this cause would the free throws on the shooting foul.

I think this is the pertinent rules for FIBA

Art. 42 Special situations

42.1
Definition
In the same stopped-clock period which follows an infraction, special situations may arise when additional foul(s) are committed.

42.2 Procedure


42.2.1 All fouls shall be charged and all penalties identified.
42.2.2 The order in which all fouls occurred shall be determined.
42.2.3 All equal penalties against the teams and all double foul penalties shall be cancelled in the order in which they were called. Once the penalties have been cancelled they are considered as never having occurred.
42.2.4 The right to possession of the ball as part of the last penalty still to be administered shall cancel any prior rights to possession of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Dumb Question

Okay...don't laugh...I'm not familiar with the "point of interruption" (POI) that has been mentioned. Can someone break that down for me?

In my hypothetical situation proposed in the OP, I'm assuming that the correct conclusion would be:

A1 and B2 get charged with T's and then we continue the game with A1 shooting his free throw. Is that right?

The "special situations" article in the FIBA rules always leaves me scratching my head. For me personally, I find it difficult to apply that article without a specific situation to apply it to. I think this thread might help me get all that straightened out. Thanks for the replies thus far.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post
Okay...don't laugh...I'm not familiar with the "point of interruption" (POI) that has been mentioned. Can someone break that down for me?

In my hypothetical situation proposed in the OP, I'm assuming that the correct conclusion would be:

A1 and B2 get charged with T's and then we continue the game with A1 shooting his free throw. Is that right?

The "special situations" article in the FIBA rules always leaves me scratching my head. For me personally, I find it difficult to apply that article without a specific situation to apply it to. I think this thread might help me get all that straightened out. Thanks for the replies thus far.
That's the correct conclusion for FED and NCAA.

It *seems* to also be correct for FIBA, based on the wording you provided.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 09:57am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post
Okay...don't laugh...I'm not familiar with the "point of interruption" (POI) that has been mentioned. Can someone break that down for me?
"Point of interruption" is another way of saying "pick up where we left off." It's a method to resume play after a double foul, inadvertant whistle, or interrupted game (something you already know about). In the simplest terms, the team that was in control of the ball at the time of the whistle, keeps control.

Here's one example from five years ago to describe it, ABC:

After A1 scored a basket, and B2 inbounded the ball to B3, A4 and B4 shoved each other up the court. I called a double foul.

Back then, a double foul resulted in no free throws, and the possession arrow determined who got the ball. On this day, Team A, who just scored, got the ball back, because the arrow said so.

Today, a double foul results in no free throws, and point of interruption. Had this rule been in place back then, Team B would have kept the ball, because they already had it at the whistle. (I think this is one of the best recent rule changes.)

One time that you would still go to the arrow at the point of interruption is when there is no team control during a live ball, such as during a rebound.

I hope this helps.

Last edited by bainsey; Mon May 17, 2010 at 09:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
got it...but what about this

Thanks for the POI explanation. Let me see if I got this straight. Fouls that have equal penalities should cancel one another, right? So, using my OP as an example...

A1 was fouled while making a shot. He's entitled to a free throw. Then A1 and B2 get heated and two T's are called. Since technical fouls carry with them a different penalty than the PF, the PF stands and the technicals cancel each other. Is my reasoning right thus far?

Now let's just say for argument's sake that A1 made the shot and got fouled, but I called B1's foul as unsportsmanlike. This foul carries with it the same penalty as a technical. Therefore, by calling a double technical for the extra activity that followed would have resulted in B1's unsportsmanlike being cancelled by A1's technical...leaving only the B2 technical to be enforced. The end result would have been that we ignore the extra free throw for A1 when he made the shot and got fouled, and a player from team A would be shooting the technical free throws and retaining possession. Am I understanding all this clearly now?

Sorry...good grief...as I reread what I've written, I know it's a jumbled mess. After I get this sorted out in my head, I'll try my best to avoid such rambling!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 10:33am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
I'm going to defer to someone who knows the FIBA rules, because I can only answer your question based on NFHS here in the U.S., and the approach is quite different. Our approach has more to do with the order that fouls and double fouls happen, as opposed to the weight they carry.

The way I see it, in one case, you have a common foul, followed by a double technical foul. In another case, you have an intentional foul (that's the best NFHS equivalent I see), followed by a double technical. Either way, the double T goes to "point of interruption." Both players would get technical fouls, which would count as team fouls, and we'd pick up where we left off...
*for the common foul during a made shot: one free throw.
*for the intentional foul: two free throws (lane spaces empty), and throw-in at the nearest spot of the foul.

Last edited by bainsey; Mon May 17, 2010 at 10:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post

Now let's just say for argument's sake that A1 made the shot and got fouled, but I called B1's foul as unsportsmanlike. This foul carries with it the same penalty as a technical. Therefore, by calling a double technical for the extra activity that followed would have resulted in B1's unsportsmanlike being cancelled by A1's technical...leaving only the B2 technical to be enforced. The end result would have been that we ignore the extra free throw for A1 when he made the shot and got fouled, and a player from team A would be shooting the technical free throws and retaining possession. Am I understanding all this clearly now?
Almost. Keep in mind that in FIBA rules, an unsportsmanlike foul on a successful field goal is one free throw plus possession at half court. So it would not cancel the first technical.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 10:29am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Today, a double foul results in no free throws, and point of interruption. Had this rule been in place back then, Team B would have kept the ball, because they already had it at the whistle. (I think this is one of the best recent rule changes.)

One time that you would still go to the arrow at the point of interruption is when there is no team control during a live ball, such as during a rebound.
Forgive me, but I'm going to clarify a bit more.

This part is irrelevant, in that it's not necessary.

As soon as the basket went in, B was entitled to the ball. Had you called a DF prior to the ball being inbounded, B would still get the ball. Team control is only one factor to consider before going to the arrow.

This part is not necessarily true either. There are times, during a live ball, where a lack of team control at the time of the whiste would not send you to the arrow.

Throw-ins are prime examples.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lately its all happened when I'm PMS-ing.... angryZebra Basketball 6 Fri May 09, 2008 11:52pm
Almost Happened .... Chess Ref Softball 3 Thu Apr 10, 2008 09:18pm
What happened to.. cowbyfan1 Football 2 Sun Jul 31, 2005 08:17pm
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? UmpJM Baseball 7 Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm
what happened rhsc Softball 3 Thu May 19, 2005 10:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1