![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You had two correct choices you could have made: 1) If you decide that the foul occurred before the ball was through the basket, by rule you cancel the basket and administer the common foul. Case book play 4.41.2. 2) If you decide the contact occurred after the ball was through the basket, and the contact was neither intentional or flagrant(as you posted), by rule you count the basket and ignore the contact as being "incidental". Rule 4-19-1NOTE, Soooooo, even if you had to guess whether the contact was before or after the basket, you could still have made a correct call after that by rule if you followed #1 or #2 above. Instead, you ended up making a call that had absolutely no basis at all under the rules. What the rules won't allow you to do is count the basket and administer a common foul. That is kinda "ironic", I guess. You can only get so far conning people when you're officiating, even if you're "spectacular" in doing so. I wouldn't break an arm patting yourself on the back just because some rec league coach had the same rules knowledge as you. You can get away with making up calls in rec leagues but there's some pretty knowledgable coachs around at the higher levels. And if that call went against them, even if they don't know the rule they'll sureasheck check it out. Hopefully it's a learning experience. |
Quote:
And that's the last time I'll respond to you. You just went on the "ignore" list with a few select others. That should make for a better relationship between us.:) |
What if, on this play, one official signaled a block and the other signaled a charge, and then they realized that the contact came after the ball went through the basket? Would they still have to report the double foul?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Was the home team significantly ahead, such that this player was just screwing around and showing off by dunking at the wrong end or was he legitimately confused? If the former, I think that it is time to end the game. Also, if the score is close enough such that the home team is attempting to gain an advantage by scoring two-points against itself (perhaps instead of risking a turnover or missed FTs at the other end and then surrendering a game-tying three-pointer), I would consider an unsporting technical foul. |
Quote:
:rolleyes: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I believe that more people than you think support the concept of Fair Play, especially at the HS level. Note: Even the NBE has a rule against attempting to score at the wrong basket. It's counter to the basic intent of the game. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But NFHS doesn't. |
Quote:
I'm stating that it is against the concept of fair play and therefore, depending upon the circumstances, may fall within the purview of the rule addressing unsporting fouls. |
Quote:
Coaches are not stupid although they often act in that manner. They will find ways to abuse the rules to gain an unintended advantage. (Recall the NCAA football coaches only a couple of seasons ago who quickly figured out that they could purposely be offside on a kick-off in order to burn a few more seconds near the end of a game after scoring due to the new timing rules? The NCAA even came out and stated that this should be penalized with an unsporting flag, and then fixed the loophole by instructing the officials to reset the clock.) Given that the game clock does NOT stop at the HS level following a made goal in the final minute of play as it does in NCAA games, it can easily be understood that scoring for the opposing team could be quite advantageous under the right circumstances. Specifically, doing so with a three or four point lead, under five seconds remaining in the game, and the opponent not having any time-outs would place the opposing team in a far worse situation than simply inbounding the ball and playing the game in a normal manner. The reason is that instead of the opponent being able to commit a common foul, they must now commit either an intentional personal or a technical foul in order to stop the clock, if the team not credited with the score simply has all of its players stand OOB behind the end line and not inbound the ball. You really don't see that as putting the team in a more advantageous situation than they previously were? :confused: Quote:
The opponent is severely penalized for interfering with that awarded throw-in. There is even an NFHS play ruling making it a technical foul to delay the game with under five seconds remaining in a throw-in situation for the opponent. Why do you think that the NFHS committee made that ruling? Hmmmm.... coaches trying to take advantage of the rules in an unsporting manner! |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am. |