The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Whatchagot?

Had a fellow official poise this senerio from one of his games and decided it would be a good one for the forum.

A1 drives to the basket and releases the ball before time expires in the quarter. A2 leaps into the air in anticipation of an rebound and as he leaps, B1 steps underneath him without making contact. It was reasonable for A2 to believe that, given B1's position on the floor, he might be injured if he returned directly to the floor so A2 grasped the rim to avoid injury. However, when he grasped the rim, the ball was in the basket but had not come all the way through the net. The crew decided that since A1 had grasped the basket to avoid injury, it was not basket interference and counted the basket.

By rule, did they get it right?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1