The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Xavier vs Kansas State (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57693-xavier-vs-kansas-state.html)

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 26, 2010 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 670793)
In this play, the K-State player caught it either while laying on the ground or going to the ground and threw it toward the BC with both hands. If that wasn't the definition of control, I don't know what is.

Whether the ball was caught(came to rest) is and will always be a judgment call to be made by the official responsible for that determination. If he says it wasn't caught, then it wasn't(whether it was caught in somebody else's judgment) and therefore there was no player control and no backcourt violation.

All you're doing now is arguing that your judgment is better than the calling official's judgment. And that's an argument that is impossible for you to win...or lose.

The only thing that is for sure though is that the calling official's judgment is gonna prevail...no matter what.

mbyron Fri Mar 26, 2010 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 670822)
The only thing that is for sure though is that the calling official's judgment is gonna prevail...no matter what.

+1

There's a reason that clinicians almost never say anything about an official's judgment. They might ask what you saw in order to probe your rules knowledge, but they generally don't challenge your judgment.

Their focus is on everything before and after that moment of judgment: getting into position, using good mechanics, etc. Good judgment comes only with good experience, but the rest is teachable.

Adam Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 670768)
Two things definitely can occur simultaneously, but last to touch in frontcourt/first to touch in backcourt cannot.

That's not even what the rule says. The rule says "last to touch before the ball goes into the backcourt" and "first to touch after it goes into the backcourt."

We have three events, (A, B, C).
If A happens before B, and C happens after B, it is impossible for A and C to happen simultaneously.

Adam Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 670794)
good no call on last regulation possession, 3 foul shots. Talked to a couple of college playing buddies of mine and they both said the same thing that you have to foul harder and not some weird two armed grab.
Awesome game! Kansas St. fans must have been going crazy when Xavier kept coming back.

While you certainly came up with the correct answer, Grasshopper, requiring you to show your work has demonstrated your lack of understanding. Feel free to keep playing, though.

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 670892)
While you certainly came up with the correct answer, Grasshopper, requiring you to show your work has demonstrated your lack of understanding.

Hey, if a couple of his college playing buddies say it's true, it has to be true. You sure can't find a more definitive source of officiating knowledge and expertise than that. :D

Adam Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 670902)
Hey, if a couple of his college playing buddies say it's true, it has to be true. You sure can't find a more definitive source of officiating knowledge and expertise than that. :D

I don't know, JR, I'm not sure I'd trust anything that milkaholic Lindsay says on a play date.

APG Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 670902)
Hey, if a couple of his college playing buddies say it's true, it has to be true. You sure can't find a more definitive source of officiating knowledge and expertise than that. :D

I actually like to break down game tape with my college buddies...especially with a beer or two! :D

just another ref Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 670891)
That's not even what the rule says. The rule says "last to touch before the ball goes into the backcourt" and "first to touch after it goes into the backcourt."

We have three events, (A, B, C).
If A happens before B, and C happens after B, it is impossible for A and C to happen simultaneously.

Which makes the interp even more bogus.

Adam Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 670909)
Which makes the interp even more bogus.

Agreed; that impossibility is the only reason I ignore the interp.

amusedofficial Sat Mar 27, 2010 03:30am

Oh, my head.
 
One should not read threads about backcourt violations while enjoying a refreshing Pabst Blue Ribbon. One can only take the death of so many brain cells at a time.

Jurassic Referee Sat Mar 27, 2010 06:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 670909)
Which makes the interp even more bogus.

Fer sure......

It's a case play with absolutely no rules backing(as discussed ad infinitum, ad nauseum).

just another ref Sat Mar 27, 2010 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 670929)

It's a case play with absolutely no rules backing......

Like a blarge. :)

Rich Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 670942)
Like a blarge. :)

I don't know -- I found double foul in the definitions in about 3 seconds.

Raymond Sat Mar 27, 2010 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 670891)
That's not even what the rule says. The rule says "last to touch before the ball goes into the backcourt" and "first to touch after it goes into the backcourt."

We have three events, (A, B, C).
If A happens before B, and C happens after B, it is impossible for A and C to happen simultaneously.

Define "goes into the backcourt". :)

mbyron Sat Mar 27, 2010 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 670964)
Define "goes into the backcourt". :)

Ball location is defined. That can't quite be it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1