The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   established legal guard position but too close to an opponent without the ball? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57422-established-legal-guard-position-but-too-close-opponent-without-ball.html)

christianH Thu Mar 04, 2010 06:14pm

Thanks Snaqwells

that is exactly what I will say if the same situation happens again.

Amesman Thu Mar 04, 2010 06:42pm

Chris,

I know I can't be the only curious one: If I may ask, what is your native language? (And I ask partly because your English is very, very good -- I believe I and others in the past have said you don't need that disclaimer on your signature. But also because now you say you're officiating in England. ?!)

Good questions, by the way. Keep them coming.

mbyron Thu Mar 04, 2010 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by christianH (Post 666353)
England is a country near Wales.

I was traveling in Wales once. I met an old man and, being interested in Celtic languages, I asked him about Welsh.

"Does Welsh have a word like the Spanish maņana: you know, relax, do it tomorrow, put everything off, etc.?"

He replied, "Ay, we have such a word, but nothing quite so urgent."

Adam Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 666389)
I was traveling in Wales once. I met an old man and, being interested in Celtic languages, I asked him about Welsh.

"Does Welsh have a word like the Spanish maņana: you know, relax, do it tomorrow, put everything off, etc.?"

He replied, "Ay, we have such a word, but nothing quite so urgent."

Now you're messing with my heritage. One of these days....

justacoach Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 666344)
Why? What did Herman ever do to you?

Go back to scaring Rec ball coaches, you old Hermit!!!

mbyron Fri Mar 05, 2010 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 666397)
Now you're messing with my heritage. One of these days....

Not messing at all. It's true, it's true... plus, I'm mostly Celt myself!

hoopguy Fri Mar 05, 2010 09:20am

One more thing....
 
From the original question....

It also depends upon how he catches the ball and when possesion occurs. If the offensive player leaps to make the catch then that will factor into the time and distance equation upon the landing. The leap without the ball will mean that his landing will be treated as though he is without the ball but once he lands with possesion then time and distance are not a factor. So the offensive player could still commit a PC foul on a leaping catch but the defensive player needs to have been there ealier than if the player caught the ball without leaping. I believe it could be looked upon like an airborne shooter but I do not think there is a rules reference that backs me up on this.

Many officials call a travel when there is a leap, landing, collision. Sometimes correctly, somtimes a cop out.

Adam Fri Mar 05, 2010 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 666451)
From the original question....

It also depends upon how he catches the ball and when possesion occurs. If the offensive player leaps to make the catch then that will factor into the time and distance equation upon the landing. The leap without the ball will mean that his landing will be treated as though he is without the ball but once he lands with possesion then time and distance are not a factor. So the offensive player could still commit a PC foul on a leaping catch but the defensive player needs to have been there ealier than if the player caught the ball without leaping. I believe it could be looked upon like an airborne shooter but I do not think there is a rules reference that backs me up on this.

Many officials call a travel when there is a leap, landing, collision. Sometimes correctly, somtimes a cop out.

I'm not sure what you're saying, but I think it's wrong. At best, it's confusing.

1. A1 throws a pass, leading A2 heading down the court.
2. B1 sees where the pass is going and establishes legal position facing A2.
3. A2 leaps, immediately after B1 gains position.
4. Airborne A2 catches the ball and crashes into B1.

Time and distance do not matter, period. All that matters is whether B1 was in position before A2 left the floor.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by christianH (Post 666337)
Hi guys,

this question came up in my last game.

A1 is running fast to catch a long pass coming from behind him.

As he looks over his shoulders and just before catching the pass B1 stands in his path and very close to him, say 30inches away.

A1 cannot see B1 as he is looking back now.

A1 finally catches the pass and as he turns to face forward he runs into B1 who was standing in his path. Contact occurs in the torso.

Please guys what is your call

Many thanks

chris


CHARGE!!!

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1