The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2010, 03:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I would rule IW for your situation.
+1...as per case book 5.8.3SitE(b). Exact play almost.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2010, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
+1...as per case book 5.8.3SitE(b). Exact play almost.
+2...Sorry coach, I misheard you...

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2010, 04:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Wow, so much is wrong on this....
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 02, 2010, 09:12am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
+2...Sorry coach, I misheard you...

-Josh
Not even that. It was an assistant coach who was speaking. So even if the AC said the words "time-out" for whatever reason--as in "Hey Mark, we really need to call a TIME-OUT"--it would still be an IW.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2010, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
+1...as per case book 5.8.3SitE(b). Exact play almost.
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official;
or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her
team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING:
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and
granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges
and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.
Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In
(b), an accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out,
and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the
point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1