![]() |
My first year officiating high school ball, I had a boys soph game in which I had this very scenario. Early in the game I give him a T for reaching across and slapping the ball on a throw-in. Later, I have to ring him up for complaining about a no-call.
When I called the state to file the report, they said they weren't concerned about it and wouldn't suspend him since only one T fit what they considered to be a sportsmanship issue. Granted, it wasn't a playoff game, but still.... |
This happened in my neck of the woods...I do not know who worked the game, but I will see if I can find out what the deal is.
|
here you go
Quote:
Lynn English's Woumn hit with 1-game suspension - The Boston Globe Lynn English star suspended - BostonHerald.com Krause: Don't blame MIAA for English predicament Bulldogs' Woumn suspended, but Prep still has tall order - SalemNews.com, Salem, MA apparently this school has some kind of recruiting scandal on top of all this |
Quote:
Here's an update on what's going on with the team. Some new issues (including the fact the Ryan Woumn is suspended for the next game due to receiving 2 T's...it looks like the MIAA thinks the refs kicked it) and a recap of the past suspensions. Lynn English hoop woes mount |
Well then, this is what happens when officials insert their own opinions into the rules. I'm not a fan of the MIAA (handshakes), but they did the right thing here.
|
Quote:
|
I'll give the officials the benefit of the doubt here (until I found out otherwise). I (hope) don't think that they intentionally assessed the incorrect penalty. My hope is that the three of them had a huge brain cramp and kicked the rule. It's not a whole lot better, but it's better than setting aside the rules.
|
Quote:
I personally think this particular 'T' should be a Team Technical or an Indirect to the player. But I don't write the rules. |
Update on this story. Lynn English lost its next game in the tournament by one. Most definitely would have been a different game if Woumn played, but that's the way the cookie crumbles.
The only word I have on the officials is that all 3 are supposedly college officials. I wouldn't take that information to the bank, but it raises a question for me. I'm not very familiar with NCAA rules, so I'm wondering if the T for reaching through the plane and making contact with the ball carries a different penalty in NCAA-M or NCAA-W? I know we have plenty of NCAA officials out there who can set me straight. |
Quote:
Quote:
Section 6. (Men) CLASS B TECHNICAL INFRACTIONS j. Reaching through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touching or dislodging the ball while it is in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line as in Rule 7-5.6.b. |
Quote:
Know your codes, peoples!! |
From the local newspaper:
According to English athletic director Gary Molea, the referee -- a college official -- explained that he'd meant to warn Woumn that he was not allowed to interfere with the ball. In college, Molea said, there is a distinction made between a technical for unsportsmanlike conduct, and one for delay of game, whereas in high school there is not. "But," he said, "the referees got together and he (the official) admitted his mistake, and said he was only trying to warn Woumn. They call it an administrative technical." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am. |