The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 23, 2010, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
So for this play:

Jump ball tipped by A1 into A's backcourt. A2 and B2 chase after it and A2 and B2 simultaneously foul each other.

Must A2 and B2 re-jump? Are they "the two player's involved" as in 6-4-3-Note? Does the "two player's involved" mean the jumpers (and the Note is just pointing out the location), or the players who caused the tie-up, double foul, double violation, simultaneous OOB?

Back to my play: What if the foul disqualifies one or both of the players (either 5th foul during OT, or double flagrant)? Must their substitutes re-jump?
Yep...A2 and B2 jump....and the player's sub if DQd.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 23, 2010, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 851
I'd never thought this post would have generated so many replies. The original play occured in a State post season girls game in Missouri. Sorry to say, the 3 officials did not apply the correct ruling. They placed A1 and B1 back in the jump circle. This play did not decide the outcome of the game, but it is good to know the in's and out's of the rules of basketball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1