The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   New one for me... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57254-new-one-me.html)

mbyron Tue Feb 23, 2010 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 663898)
What is the difference between preventative officiating and coaching? How long should I, or could I, have waited?

Waiting in any case does not constitute coaching because you never addressed the players.

Wait until you're convinced that he's defying you.

AKOFL Tue Feb 23, 2010 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 663969)
Situation is from the 07-08 interps. This interpretation, in my opinion, is consistent with the wording of the rule, even though I don't care much for the rule. In the current case play 10.1.9, the team does gain an apparent advantage, but this condition is not specified anywhere else.

What, specifically, does your book say about this?

And why is there yet another NFHS rules publication in the first place?

I appreciate your thoughts on the need for yet another rule book.:D Rules by topic is just that. It makes it easier to find certain rules because they put them together by a topic. they also provide some case plays along with them. As noted before people don't put alot of stock in this publication for whatever reason. I have found a few errors myself. So I am just trying to get to the bottom of this. It reads just as you posted but they no longer get a T if it is truly a mistake and no advantage is gained. Not arguing just tring to get it right.;)

just another ref Tue Feb 23, 2010 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 664097)
... they no longer get a T if it is truly a mistake and no advantage is gained. Not arguing just tring to get it right.;)

Would you mind quoting the passage?

AKOFL Tue Feb 23, 2010 02:56pm

10.3.3 sit B After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both teams, A5 goes to the bench and remains there believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's front court when the coach of team A realizes they only have four players. the coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up whith the play. Ruling. No technical foul is charged to A5. A5's return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court.

Adam Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:09pm

That's a slightly different sitch. If this happens following a timeout, call the T. :)

AKOFL Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 664151)
That's a slightly different sitch. If this happens following a timeout, call the T. :)

that's the difference I was not getting. Thanks Snaq.;) Sorry JAR. Sometimes I can't read the details to save my own life.

gslefeb Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:21pm

10.1.9 Sit After time-out if A5 stays on the bench; then comes onto the court during action - T

10.3.2 Sit B - After subs - A5 thinks they were replaced goes to the bench and then comes onto the court during action - No T.

just another ref Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 664144)
10.3.3 sit B After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both teams, A5 goes to the bench and remains there believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's front court when the coach of team A realizes they only have four players. the coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up whith the play. Ruling. No technical foul is charged to A5. A5's return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court.

Something else is wrong. 10-3-3 deals with dunking and grasping.

You mean 10.3.2, right?

AKOFL Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 664159)
Something else is wrong. 10-3-3 deals with dunking and grasping.

You mean 10.3.2, right?

Another peice of ammo for the assasination of the rules by topic book.:p

just another ref Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 664162)
Another peice of ammo for the assasination of the rules by topic book.:p

You mean this book has them numbered differently?

Is this the book for the current year?

AKOFL Tue Feb 23, 2010 07:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 664165)
You mean this book has them numbered differently?

Is this the book for the current year?

This quote is from the 08-09. I just read it out of the 09-10 and it was the same. didn't notice the numbers though


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1