The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 03, 2002, 12:01pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by bigwhistle
If there was no grasp or attempt to dunk, I have a player grabbing the ring to prevent injury and would not assess any penalty.
Hmmm, so what was he doing up there before he grabbed the
rim? Seems to me the simplest explanation is he was
attempting a dunk.
The original sitch said that he was gonna dunk,but then changed his mind.Therefore,in the referee's opinion,there was no attempt to dunk.The referee was also of the opinion that the player grasped the ring to avoid injury.Therefore,t'aint a T under the exception to R10.3.5
The whole play hinges on the individual official's judgement of the circumstances.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1