![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
had it packed away but I dug the rulebook out. This is what I was trying to say:
3-3-1c: During multiple free throws resulting from personal fouls, substitutions may be made only before the final attempt in the sequence and after the final attempt has been converted. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
ah, you're right. Didn't see "technical".
I've looked through the rulebook, can't seem to find the answer for this one. I think you would wait until all FTs are administered, then beckon the subs before the throw-in. |
|
|||
|
Ok, I am correcting myself on this one.
During Technical FTs, subs can be made before the first shot, or at any time in between shots, and after the shots are taken. Any substitutes can also attempt the Technical Free Throws. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
haha.
I accidentally came across 8-3 while looking this up in the rulebook and had the same exact interpretation, that in order for a sub to take the FTs, substitution must be allowed after the referee reports the technical fouls.
|
|
|||
|
You have to infer the answer to the first question from NFHS 8-3: "The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower(s)."
In order for "an eligible substitute" to attempt the FTs, that substitute must be able to enter the game before either the first or second FT. And since the two free throws may be attempted by different players, it may be required to allow a substitution before both the first and second FT. As far as I know the rules book only specifies that each team must occupy the bench designated by game management and that they begin the game shooting at the basket farthest from their bench. I know of no rule that specifies that they must warm up at that same basket, although obviously that is how it's done. There is no rule, in the rules book at least, that says that a team cannot warm up at both baskets if the other team leaves the floor. And it's generally accepted that if the rules don't say it's illegal, it's legal. However, I believe the NFHS had something to say on the subject a few years ago, at least in regards to prohibiting teams from running through the other teams warmups, circling the floor, competing over the center circle, etc. And I understand some states have policies on the subject as well. So, in your state, this practice may very well be prohibited.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Test 2 Answers | Gatorbbref | Basketball | 13 | Fri Dec 31, 2004 02:20am |
| Test answers | dr_donald_t | Basketball | 134 | Wed Nov 17, 2004 07:22am |
| Official Answers | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 08, 2004 05:58am |
| Questions and Answers | ump3 | Baseball | 0 | Sat Oct 23, 2004 05:08pm |
| Need answers | blue2 | Football | 3 | Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:10pm |