Adam |
Wed Feb 10, 2010 05:58pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by trsandy
(Post 660483)
I was coaching a game on Monday, where our player was in the process of tying up the other team's player in a jump ball, when the opposing team's coach yelled time-out!!! He was granted the time-out and the jump-ball change of possession was avoided. I told the ref that he did not need to grant the time-out, especially when there was a question as to whether which team was controlling the ball.
Can you professionals illuminate the ruling a little more?
|
I'm seeing a situation in my head where the other team was holding the ball and your player was trying to tie him up. If the coach's request came even a split second before your player succeeded in tying up the opponent, the TO should be granted.
If the TO was requested after the ball was truly tied up, and the official blew his whistle to grant it; he should grant it but put the ball back into play with the arrow.
Note, the request doesn't have to come before the defense touches the ball; it needs to come before the official judges the ball is tied up. It's a judgment call all the way.
|