The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Technically there is no pivot foot in this situation (see 4.44.2). Although it might seem counterintuitive, this is specifically allowed by rule. Note this only applies while dribbling or moving, you can't stop, establish a pivot foot and then try to make this move.
Okay so catching the ball or dribbling is okay. But if I stop a dribble then try or receive a pass its traveling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Okay so catching the ball or dribbling is okay. But if I stop a dribble then try or receive a pass its traveling?
It basically applies to a moving player gathering or receiving the ball, allowing him/her to jump off one foot and land on both simultaneously.

The way I interpret it is that it is all one continuous action, so if the gathering or receiving is one action, and then the jump stop is another, I view it as illegal. Judgement call, though I err on the side of legal if there is doubt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
It basically applies to a moving player gathering or receiving the ball, allowing him/her to jump off one foot and land on both simultaneously.

The way I interpret it is that it is all one continuous action, so if the gathering or receiving is one action, and then the jump stop is another, I view it as illegal. Judgement call, though I err on the side of legal if there is doubt.
The way I interpret is it gives a moving player an opportunity to come to a stop without requiring that it be "immediate". Imagine how hard it would be if you considered that the foot touching the ground on the catch/gather was the pivot and a player could not lift and return that foot to the ground - in certain situations that move is near impossible, thus the allowance for the jump stop.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
It basically applies to a moving player gathering or receiving the ball, allowing him/her to jump off one foot and land on both simultaneously.

The way I interpret it is that it is all one continuous action, so if the gathering or receiving is one action, and then the jump stop is another, I view it as illegal. Judgement call, though I err on the side of legal if there is doubt.
I disagree. If a player has a foot in the air, I consider them to be moving. Standing on one foot is not a steady-state situation. They may be moving slowly, but they're still moving.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I disagree. If a player has a foot in the air, I consider them to be moving. Standing on one foot is not a steady-state situation. They may be moving slowly, but they're still moving.

I agree - 4-44-2 does not reference any amount of time limit for the player to be allowed to jump off of that foot and land on both feet. As long as they are moving when they catch/gather the ball and land on one foot, I think you are covered by rule. Although it would not look good..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I disagree. If a player has a foot in the air, I consider them to be moving. Standing on one foot is not a steady-state situation. They may be moving slowly, but they're still moving.
This is a valid point, and if you judge the player is still moving then it's all part of that action.

Honestly, I don't think I've ever called a violation for what I described as two separate actions, but I think I would if I judged a player had stopped on one foot, then jumped off it onto two. Would be a pretty awkward, unusual, and strange play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I disagree. If a player has a foot in the air, I consider them to be moving. Standing on one foot is not a steady-state situation. They may be moving slowly, but they're still moving.

Agreed. Movement is not the key. The key is when the second foot touches the floor. Until it does, there is no pivot foot.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Okay so catching the ball or dribbling is okay. But if I stop a dribble then try or receive a pass its traveling?
I'm saying if you stopped a dribble, established a pivot foot, you could not jump off of that pivot foot and land on two feet, that would be travelling. In the case of a jump stop since the player is moving, the foot that they jump off of is not considered to be the pivot foot - there is no pivot foot in that case.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
I'm saying if you stopped a dribble, established a pivot foot, you could not jump off of that pivot foot and land on two feet, that would be travelling. In the case of a jump stop since the player is moving, the foot that they jump off of is not considered to be the pivot foot - there is no pivot foot in that case.
So they can go left, right, left? Since their is no pivot foot in that case?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
So they can go left, right, left? Since their is no pivot foot in that case?
Nope. In that case the left foot is determined to be the pivot foot as soon as the right foot hit the ground. Therefore, when the left foot hits the ground again it is traveling.

If the ball is gathered or caught with one foot on the ground, that foot is always the pivot foot EXCEPT for the one clearly defined exception which is the jump stop, in which case there isn't a pivot foot.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Nope. In that case the left foot is determined to be the pivot foot as soon as the right foot hit the ground. Therefore, when the left foot hits the ground again it is traveling.

If the ball is gathered or caught with one foot on the ground, that foot is always the pivot foot EXCEPT for the one clearly defined exception which is the jump stop, in which case there isn't a pivot foot.
Exactly..this is all laid out in 4-44, you just have to spend some time with it visualizing each different type of play.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Exactly..this is all laid out in 4-44, you just have to spend some time with it visualizing each different type of play.
Your right. I have a game tonight and that is all I've been doing today is acting out situations
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
It should also be noted that this whole lands-on-two-feet-no-pivot-foot scenario is only the case if the player still has a foot on the ground when the final dribble returns to his/her hands. If they're already airborne when the dribble is terminated, they can land on either foot first, with that foot being the pivot, or if both feet land at the same time, either may be the pivot. The latter scenario is often followed by the player stepping across with one foot and jumping of the non-pivot foot for a shot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deadspin: It's not traveling unless Duke says it's traveling Rich Basketball 1 Mon Feb 23, 2009 09:21pm
traveling gtfreek Softball 1 Sat Jun 04, 2005 09:09am
Traveling x 2 Dudly Basketball 7 Wed Mar 16, 2005 01:24pm
Traveling OB ? RefTip Basketball 15 Thu Mar 03, 2005 01:59am
Traveling? PA Official Basketball 2 Thu Aug 05, 2004 08:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1