View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 02:06pm
slow whistle slow whistle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
It basically applies to a moving player gathering or receiving the ball, allowing him/her to jump off one foot and land on both simultaneously.

The way I interpret it is that it is all one continuous action, so if the gathering or receiving is one action, and then the jump stop is another, I view it as illegal. Judgement call, though I err on the side of legal if there is doubt.
The way I interpret is it gives a moving player an opportunity to come to a stop without requiring that it be "immediate". Imagine how hard it would be if you considered that the foot touching the ground on the catch/gather was the pivot and a player could not lift and return that foot to the ground - in certain situations that move is near impossible, thus the allowance for the jump stop.
Reply With Quote