![]() |
|
|
|||
True haha. Never thought of it in that way.
Why is it not traveling when a player has the Left foot as the pivot and they jump off of that foot onto 2 feet? Didn't the Left foot come down again? |
|
|||
Technically there is no pivot foot in this situation (see 4.44.2). Although it might seem counterintuitive, this is specifically allowed by rule. Note this only applies while dribbling or moving, you can't stop, establish a pivot foot and then try to make this move.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The way I interpret it is that it is all one continuous action, so if the gathering or receiving is one action, and then the jump stop is another, I view it as illegal. Judgement call, though I err on the side of legal if there is doubt. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree - 4-44-2 does not reference any amount of time limit for the player to be allowed to jump off of that foot and land on both feet. As long as they are moving when they catch/gather the ball and land on one foot, I think you are covered by rule. Although it would not look good.. |
|
|||
Quote:
Honestly, I don't think I've ever called a violation for what I described as two separate actions, but I think I would if I judged a player had stopped on one foot, then jumped off it onto two. Would be a pretty awkward, unusual, and strange play. |
|
|||
Quote:
Agreed. Movement is not the key. The key is when the second foot touches the floor. Until it does, there is no pivot foot.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I'm saying if you stopped a dribble, established a pivot foot, you could not jump off of that pivot foot and land on two feet, that would be travelling. In the case of a jump stop since the player is moving, the foot that they jump off of is not considered to be the pivot foot - there is no pivot foot in that case.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the ball is gathered or caught with one foot on the ground, that foot is always the pivot foot EXCEPT for the one clearly defined exception which is the jump stop, in which case there isn't a pivot foot. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Deadspin: It's not traveling unless Duke says it's traveling | Rich | Basketball | 1 | Mon Feb 23, 2009 09:21pm |
traveling | gtfreek | Softball | 1 | Sat Jun 04, 2005 09:09am |
Traveling x 2 | Dudly | Basketball | 7 | Wed Mar 16, 2005 01:24pm |
Traveling OB ? | RefTip | Basketball | 15 | Thu Mar 03, 2005 01:59am |
Traveling? | PA Official | Basketball | 2 | Thu Aug 05, 2004 08:05am |