The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal Screen or Not? I'm Thinking Yes... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56885-illegal-screen-not-im-thinking-yes.html)

rwest Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:43pm

I agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 658096)
Stepping backwards to prevent yourself from falling is not giving ground. I just want to clarify that a player does not need to plant the feet and fall down in order to draw a foul here.

However, if they plant their feet and are displaced it is definitely a foul. If a player gives ground on their own with little contact, I've got nothing. Remember, not all contact is a foul.

We have to judge advantage/disadvantage. If the defender chooses to move when there is incidental contact, then I've got nothing. I see this more frequently at the lower level where the offensive player moves backwards and the defender moves her feet with them. Very little if any contact. The contact didn't displace the player. The defender chose to move backwards on their own. I didn't mean to imply that they have to plant their feet to get the foul, just that if they are moving backward it now becomes a judgement call whether the contact was incidental or not. But that's what we get paid for.

Adam Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:57pm

Agreed, it's the same as a "moving screen." If the screener is moving, but the defender voluntarily gets out of the way or moves wider to go around it, it's nothing.

DLH17 Wed Feb 03, 2010 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 658110)
Agreed, it's the same as a "moving screen." If the screener is moving, but the defender voluntarily gets out of the way or moves wider to go around it, it's nothing.

Could this physical act being discussed also be same/similar to the commom scenario of player A1 "sealing" player B1 from a loose ball that is traveling towards OOB?

Adam Wed Feb 03, 2010 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 658189)
Could this physical act being discussed also be same/similar to the commom scenario of player A1 "sealing" player B1 from a loose ball that is traveling towards OOB?

Exactly. If the "sealing" player gets to the spot first, it's legal. If they create contact while moving and displace or impede the opponent, it's a foul.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 03, 2010 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 658197)
Exactly. If the "sealing" player gets to the spot first, it's legal. If they create contact while moving and displace or impede the opponent, it's a foul.


Unless, of course, they are moving in the same path and direction -- which is what I judge 99% of the time.

bas2456 Wed Feb 03, 2010 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 658197)
Exactly. If the "sealing" player gets to the spot first, it's legal. If they create contact while moving and displace or impede the opponent, it's a foul.

This is the key word I was looking for in the OP. If A2 is impeding B1 from coming to play defense on A1, we would have a foul. Did I interpret that right?

Adam Wed Feb 03, 2010 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 658209)
Unless, of course, they are moving in the same path and direction -- which is what I judge 99% of the time.

Good point, I was thinking of lateral movement by the "sealer." Normally, however, the sealer is either moving slowly with the opponent or gets to the spot in time.

Adam Wed Feb 03, 2010 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 658210)
This is the key word I was looking for in the OP. If A2 is impeding B1 from coming to play defense on A1, we would have a foul. Did I interpret that right?

Yes, if the impediment is caused by illegal contact for which A2 is responsible.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1