The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Intentionally missing a free throw ?

the player's team is 3 points down but he is fouled. he converts the first free throw than on the second one without any intent of making it he just throws the ball to the rim with power and the ball bounces right back to him.

is that a violation? Maybe in Europe it is, but what about NBA ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 04:39pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
i'd call it a good play. long as it hits the rim and ft shooter doesn't cross the line before it hits why would it be against the rules
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 04:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldonado View Post
the player's team is 3 points down but he is fouled. he converts the first free throw than on the second one without any intent of making it he just throws the ball to the rim with power and the ball bounces right back to him.

is that a violation? Maybe in Europe it is, but what about NBA ?

Thanks
No it is not a violation at any level of basketball that I have ever seen. It is common, but you must hit the rim to not have a violation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
I don't know about NBA, but in NFHS it's legal. Extremely tricky, but legal.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldonado View Post
the player's team is 3 points down but he is fouled. he converts the first free throw than on the second one without any intent of making it he just throws the ball to the rim with power and the ball bounces right back to him.

is that a violation? Maybe in Europe it is, but what about NBA ?
It's not a violation in Europe (FIBA).

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 06:13pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
No violation under NBA Rules

RULE NO. 9—FREE THROWS AND PENALTIES

Section I—Positions and Violations
a. When a free throw is awarded, an official shall put the ball in play by placing it at the disposal of the free throw shooter. The shooter shall be above the free throw line and within the upper half of the free throw circle. He shall attempt the free throw within 10 seconds in such a way that the ball enters the basket or touches the ring.

NBA Casebook
126. While attempting a free throw, Player A1 throws the ball extremely hard toward the basket in an attempt to deliberately miss the shot and gain possession. Is this legal?

Yes. The ball must make contact with the basket ring and all free throw provisions must be observed for this to be a legal play.
RULE 9 - SECTION I - b

Last edited by APG; Mon Feb 01, 2010 at 06:16pm. Reason: Added casebook play
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 06:46pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
I don't know about NBA, but in NFHS it's legal. Extremely tricky, but legal.
I've seen more players try this and fail than do it correctly. Obviously, few practice it. I mean, gosh, how hard is it too just throw the ball real hard at the rim and get it back?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 07:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,857
It's Not As Easy As You Think ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
I've seen more players try this and fail than do it correctly. Obviously, few practice it. I mean, gosh, how hard is it too just throw the ball real hard at the rim and get it back?
I've been around the block enough times to actually see a player in this situation make the shot.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I've been around the block enough times to actually see a player in this situation make the shot.
That would be 4,694 times to be exact.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 08:08pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Just a few weeks ago, a partner told me he had a kid do this successfully (throw the ball off the rim on a free throw, catch it and immediately put it back in) to tie the game with just a few seconds left, but he had to disallow it on a violation because the shooter went over the line just a split second early. My partner said his call was really an "automatic reaction". He said he blew the whistle just as the ball was hitting the rim but the kid continued with the play because it all happened so fast.

I asked him if he called the violation just to try to avoid an OT. He just smiled, not to mean that's what happened, but to recognize that it was me asking the question.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
I asked him if he called the violation just to try to avoid an OT. He just smiled, not to mean that's what happened, but to recognize that it was me asking the question.
Of course you would have taken care of the business much earlier.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catcher Intentionally Missing Ball? njdevs00cup Baseball 24 Fri Jun 12, 2009 03:49pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Missing Free Thrower Jim Armstrong Basketball 14 Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:09am
Free throw missing the rim not a violation? Back In The Saddle Basketball 11 Wed Feb 19, 2003 09:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1