The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2010, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
So what do we have if Bird was fouled in this situation (or a high school player for that matter) ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2010, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiicream View Post
So what do we have if Bird was fouled in this situation (or a high school player for that matter) ?
Hm... good question. I wish I had my rulebook to look this up but it is MIA right now. Vet officials, any input?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2010, 05:09pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiicream View Post
So what do we have if Bird was fouled in this situation (or a high school player for that matter) ?
NBA Casebook 2009-2010

145. Player A1 is dribbling under the basket and behind the backboard when he is nudged out-of-bounds by Player B1. A foul is called on Player B1, and, as Player A1 is falling out-of-bounds, he attempts a field goal which must pass directly behind the backboard. How many free throw attempts are awarded if this is the first team foul on Team B?

None. The ball is awarded to Team A at the free throw line extended on either side of the court. Since the basket cannot be counted if it goes behind the backboard, it cannot be considered a field goal attempt. This is not to be confused with the foul which occurs in front of the backboard and momentum causes the field goal to be attempted directly behind the backboard.

RULE 8 - SECTION II - b
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2010, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to mcdanrd Send a message via AIM to mcdanrd Send a message via Yahoo to mcdanrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
NBA Casebook 2009-2010

None. The ball is awarded to Team A at the free throw line extended on either side of the court. Since the basket cannot be counted if it goes behind the backboard, it cannot be considered a field goal attempt.
RULE 8 - SECTION II - b
According to this rule, the basket cannot be counted if it goes behind the backboard
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2010, 05:34pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdanrd View Post
According to this rule, the basket cannot be counted if it goes behind the backboard
The basket can not be counted if the ball passes DIRECTLY over the top of the backboard

RULE NO. 8—OUT-OF-BOUNDS AND THROW-IN

Section II—Ball
b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.

Kobe Bryant earlier this season took a shot from behind the basket, and the basket counted because the ball didn't go directly behind the basket but rather at an angle.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
NBA Casebook 2009-2010

145. Player A1 is dribbling under the basket and behind the backboard when he is nudged out-of-bounds by Player B1. A foul is called on Player B1, and, as Player A1 is falling out-of-bounds, he attempts a field goal which must pass directly behind the backboard. How many free throw attempts are awarded if this is the first team foul on Team B?

None. The ball is awarded to Team A at the free throw line extended on either side of the court. Since the basket cannot be counted if it goes behind the backboard, it cannot be considered a field goal attempt. This is not to be confused with the foul which occurs in front of the backboard and momentum causes the field goal to be attempted directly behind the backboard.

RULE 8 - SECTION II - b
What if the ball goes over the backboard but not directly behind it? Is this legal?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 06:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlfdixie View Post
What if the ball goes over the backboard but not directly behind it? Is this legal?
Correct. Two examples of it happening this year.









Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Correct. Two examples of it happening this year.
Both NBA. Would this be allowed per NFHS? (angling it over backboard from behind and to the side). I thought no.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Both NBA. Would this be allowed per NFHS? (angling it over backboard from behind and to the side). I thought no.

You thought correctly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recently observed CecilOne Softball 8 Tue Aug 01, 2006 03:12pm
Funny comment observed tjones1 Basketball 1 Sun Nov 28, 2004 05:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1