The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Intentional foul...and TO request

I was giving a talk at our local association last night and was asking for basketball situations that have come up that we may discuss.

A JV official said that he had one....this is how it was told to me.

Team A on a fast break...the Lead sees B1 wrap his arms around A1, from behind, in a "bear hug" to prevent the fast break lay-up.

Lead puts air in the whistle and called an intentional foul. (Arms crossed signal is shown)

As the Lead is getting ready to report...the Trail official approaches the Lead and says the he had a TO request from the Team A Coach...maybe "right before the foul or right about the same time." The Trail says that he blew the whistle to grant the TO "he thinks, a little before the Intentional foul call."

Watta ya got?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 05:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
I was giving a talk at our local association last night and was asking for basketball situations that have come up that we may discuss.

A JV official said that he had one....this is how it was told to me.

Team A on a fast break...the Lead sees B1 wrap his arms around A1, from behind, in a "bear hug" to prevent the fast break lay-up.

Lead puts air in the whistle and called an intentional foul. (Arms crossed signal is shown)

As the Lead is getting ready to report...the Trail official approaches the Lead and says the he had a TO request from the Team A Coach...maybe "right before the foul or right about the same time." The Trail says that he blew the whistle to grant the TO "he thinks, a little before the Intentional foul call."

Watta ya got?
If it's close, go with the intentional personal, grant the TO, then shoot the free throws.

If it's not close (TO signficantly before the foul), call intentional technical foul and shoot the free throws after the TO is completed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If it's close, go with the intentional personal, grant the TO, then shoot the free throws.

If it's not close (TO signficantly before the foul), call intentional technical foul and shoot the free throws after the TO is completed.

If not close, why call intentional foul? This assuming foul wasn't of a flagrant nature.

If I'm visualizing this right, off ball official signals TO, lets say a second or two before breakaway intentional. By rule, I maybe wrong but where is the advantage? Would the same pertain to a common foul after whistle blew for timeout within a second, and officials had to sort out what came first? To me the defender is making a play albeit a heavily penalized one. But a timeout was called prior, so nothing happened.

Heavy meds today............flu, so fire away.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If it's close, go with the intentional personal, grant the TO, then shoot the free throws.

If it's not close (TO signficantly before the foul), call intentional technical foul and shoot the free throws after the TO is completed.
I initially told him to do as you suggested in your 1st response.

Someone said..."hey, it's a dead ball after the TO was granted...so it would be an intentional technical."

I told him "true", but the only difference is where Team A is going to take the ball OOB.

If it truly was as close as the JV official said, I told the group that I would probably sell it by saying the actions were simultaneous...and administer as stated in the 1st response.

If the TO was clearly requested and granted before the intentional foul...I would go with the intentional technical...since we do not want to ignore intentional or flagrant fouls.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 06:05pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
I told him "true", but the only difference is where Team A is going to take the ball OOB.
Really? Who gets to shoot if it's a technical? Who gets to shoot if it's an intentional personal?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Really? Who gets to shoot if it's a technical? Who gets to shoot if it's an intentional personal?
Yeah...I caught my mistake in saying "ONLY" difference.

Already typed a response before I read yours. (Actually was trying to type fast before JR caught my "ONLY" response)

Good catch!
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
...as I see now...JR has so much more, than I, eloquently stated the way it should be...along with Rule references.

I also see where I should not have stated that it is the "ONLY" difference...in regards to "only" where the ball will be placed OOB.

Technical foul called...any player(s) can shoot the two FT's.

Intentional foul called...player fouled shoots the FT's...unless injured, then it would be his substitute.

Good sitch.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 06:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
Good sitch.
Yup, good one to give to your association to discuss. Lot of concepts involved.

I'm stealing it for our next meeting.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 06:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
If it truly was as close as the JV official said, I told the group that I would probably sell it by saying the actions were simultaneous...and administer as stated in the 1st response.
The rules won't let you sell it that way, I think.

Rule 2-7-3 says that you have to determine when the ball becomes dead. And there's 2 case book plays that back that concept up...2.6SitA&B.

Sooooo, it's either dead with the TO request or dead with the personal intentional foul...your choice.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If it's close, go with the intentional personal, grant the TO, then shoot the free throws.

If it's not close (TO signficantly before the foul), call intentional technical foul and shoot the free throws after the TO is completed.
100% with snaq on this.
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 09:44pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If the TO was granted, the foul is a no call.

No obvious advantageous position to be neutralized.

Ball is dead. Clock is stopped. Foul was therefore not designed to stop it or keep it from starting.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the TO was granted, the foul is a no call.

No obvious advantageous position to be neutralized.

Ball is dead. Clock is stopped. Foul was therefore not designed to stop it or keep it from starting.
I agree in principle and this makes sense, but I don't think the rules allow us to differentiate the "obviously advantageous position" intentional fouls vs. the "excessive force" / non basketball plays intentional fouls.

If a foul was ruled intentional, I think it's probably too late to rescind it since the ball is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
I agree in principle and this makes sense, but I don't think the rules allow us to differentiate the "obviously advantageous position" intentional fouls vs. the "excessive force" / non basketball plays intentional fouls.

If a foul was ruled intentional, I think it's probably too late to rescind it since the ball is dead.
Disagree.

An intentional foul is *either* excessive (but non-flagrant) contact, or contact while not playing the ball.

The "foul" in this play was the latter, and I think the intent of the IT foul is only for the former.

And, I recognize that this is my interp -- you probably can't get that from a literal reading of the book.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 10:31pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the TO was granted, the foul is a no call.

No obvious advantageous position to be neutralized.

Ball is dead. Clock is stopped. Foul was therefore not designed to stop it or keep it from starting.
So?

If a player pushes somebody during a dead ball, does that mean that you can't call an intentional technical foul because there was no obvious advantageous position to be neutralized? You can't call that dead-ball push because it also wasn't done to keep the clock from starting or stopping?

It's still intentional contact when the ball is dead. That meets the criteria of rule 4-19-5(c).
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 10:49pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
So?

It's still intentional contact when the ball is dead. That meets the criteria of rule 4-19-5(c).

What if a player grabs another player around the waist to keep him from falling down? That's intentional contact, too, but it isn't an intentional foul, in my opinion, and neither is the OP.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intentional foul observer Basketball 14 Mon Dec 10, 2007 09:05am
Intentional Foul Help PAT THE REF Basketball 15 Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:46am
Intentional Foul pforeferee Basketball 11 Wed Feb 22, 2006 03:16pm
Intentional foul Nevadaref Basketball 10 Mon Mar 31, 2003 03:20pm
Intentional Foul PP Basketball 24 Tue Nov 06, 2001 12:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1