|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 The officials can only call what they observe, so they would have to follow this case play: 10.3.2 SITUATION B: After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A’s frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up with the play. RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5’s return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court. | 
| 
 | ||||
| Quote: 
 Of course, the problem there is that the crew knows they started with 5 and one left undetected. I see 2 options, and you've mentioned both: (1) Charge the violation once you realize that the player left unauthorized and returned. (2) Use 10.3.2 situation B. I lean towards B. I don't lean towards the technical foul the crew charged. Like I told my friend, the A player that left when returning was not a substitute, so the rules about reporting and beckoning simply do not apply. When he called and asked my opinion, I went right for 10.3.2 B and said that either it's that or a violation for unauthorized leaving the court. Last edited by Rich; Sat Jan 23, 2010 at 11:06pm. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Girl scores 64 points in HS playoff game! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 2 | Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:24pm | 
| OC Returns | brainbrian | Basketball | 4 | Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:37pm | 
| Injured player returns | trainman52 | Football | 18 | Thu Sep 23, 2004 01:29pm | 
| . . . returns immediately . . . | Jim Porter | Baseball | 17 | Sat Jan 12, 2002 10:34pm |