The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: Block? PC? No Call? Violation (Travel)?
Block 12 25.53%
PC 10 21.28%
No Call 23 48.94%
Violation (Travel)? 2 4.26%
Voters: 47. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Another opinion poll

Block? Charge? No Call? Travel?

YouTube - No call 2010_01_15_01_24_02.avi

Then let the critiquing fly!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:17pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Looks more like a no call to me. It cannot be a travel if the ball is knocked out of his hands.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Looks more like a no call to me. It cannot be a travel if the ball is knocked out of his hands.

Peace
I agree, but it's hard to tell from the angle how much contact was really made (the balck offensive player was moving obliquely, so he didn't "run through" the white defender), and how much the white defender flopped.

And, to answer someone else's question -- I wouldn't have a "rebounding foul" on white 23 -- although he was in contact with the black player, it looked to me as though the black player was moving forward mostly on his own, and the contact didn't affect the rebound (it went to the other side of the basket).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
I can see a no call here. Hard to tell from the video how much body contact there was. Appears the defender stopped moving forward before the offensive player went airborne and didn't cause contact with the arms.

No violation , as the offensive player definitely lost control of the ball (and on a try, no less, so he can dribble again when he recovers it).

The only other call I see as possible is a PC. But, like I said, hard to tell from the video how much contact there really was.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
I had no call until I read Rut's response. Now I have a charge.

Just kidding!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
On the play in question, I got nothing. I wonder if anyone else would have called 23 white (I think that's his number) for pushing on the rebound before that, though. Looks like he moves the kid about 6 feet towards the hoop.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
I think it's a block or nothing. Hard to tell from this angle, but is the defender still moving laterally just after the shooter jumps?

Hard to tell which actually happened first.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
your options are either block or PC....the contact affected both the defender (who went down) and the offensive player who lost the ball...contact taken in the chest/torso area....

I vote PC foul.

If you don't like that call, I can understand, however a call (block or charge) MUST be made...you can't pass on this.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
I think it's a block or nothing. Hard to tell from this angle, but is the defender still moving laterally just after the shooter jumps?

Hard to tell which actually happened first.
If anything I have a block. Looks to me like the defender is in fact moving laterally all the way up until contact (which means after the shooter has left the floor). Probably a fine no call though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinion claude Football 13 Fri Sep 01, 2006 04:36pm
What's your opinion? Illinois blue Softball 16 Sat May 28, 2005 06:34pm
opinion, please Carbide Keyman Baseball 6 Sat May 14, 2005 09:39pm
2 Q's for your opinion MACMAN Softball 9 Sat Jun 28, 2003 08:19am
Need your opinion JustADad Baseball 15 Wed Jun 11, 2003 12:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1