![]() |
Newer Posters: You make the call!
Inspired by Padgett's thread, here's a good question... it didn't happen last night but some of it did and I'm just adding to the situation.
Let the newer officials/posters (officiating basketball <= 3 years) give it a crack first.... Team A requests and is granted a 30-second time-out. Team A will have the ball OOB for a designated throw-in. A9 reports to the table after the warning horn. A9 is not permitted to enter the game at that point, but stays at the table. Following the time-out, the official hands the ball to A4 (the thrower). With A4 still holding the ball, B2 immediately commits a DOG by violating the throw-in plane. It's B's second violation for violating the throw-in plane. A technical foul is charged to Team B. Team A's head coach wants the free throws to be shot by the following: A9 (as stated, currently checked-in at the bench) A8 (who is on the bench) A7 (who is on the bench) A3 (player) A2 (player) A10 (who is on the bench) A15 (who was heading to the table when the DOG was called, but hadn't checked-in at the time) Who is eligible to shoot the free throws and why? Who isn't eligible to shoot the free throws and why? |
Who counts as newer? Fewer than 500 posts? 250? 100? 50?
|
Quote:
|
Clear up A4. You have him as 2 different people, the thrower and another sub heading to check in.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Nice catch, PIAA... sorry about that! |
Everyone is eligible. For both free throws.
Any player replaced for a free throw shooter cannot check back in until after the ball has become live following the second free throw or ensuing throw-in. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Basically, if A9 replaces A2 for the first free throw, A2 can come back in for the second free throw, and replace A9 again. But after that free throw, A9 can't come back in until after the ball has become live after the throw in and there is an opportunity to substitute. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Which would mean A2 would not be eligible to shoot the second free throw...correct? |
Without checking above answers and not using rule book:
Anyone on floor. Reason: ball is live. OK - now I will look at rule and case book. New answer. Anyone, Plane violation causes ball to go dead. 9-2-10. A can substitute. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Ineligible: A9, A8, A7, A10, & A15 as they are still bench personnel. However where's A1, A5, A6, A11, A12, A12, A13 & A14? |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm. |