The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Newer Posters: You make the call! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56434-newer-posters-you-make-call.html)

tjones1 Wed Jan 13, 2010 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 651143)
Here we go. :rolleyes: They got ejected for smacking the guy working the table! Now, there you go.

+ 5 :D

It's true, it's true... however, it's not part of this situation... I'm posting their situation later.

LOL, thanks tomegun!

Adam Wed Jan 13, 2010 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 651141)
Eligible: A4, A3, & A2 as they are currently active players.

Ineligible: A9, A8, A7, A10, & A15 as they are still bench personnel.

However where's A1, A5, A6, A11, A12, A12, A13 & A14?

Read rule 8-3 and try again.
Or, if you don't want to or can't do that, read post #12 and try again.

chseagle Wed Jan 13, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651152)
Read rule 8-3 and try again.
Or, if you don't want to or can't do that, read post #12 and try again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 651141)
Eligible: A4, A3, & A2 as they are currently active players.

Ineligible: A9, A8, A7, A10, & A15 as they are still bench personnel.

However where's A1, A5, A6, A11, A12, A12, A13 & A14?

Ok, so the FT Shooter can be whoever the coach or captain designates.

Adam Wed Jan 13, 2010 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 651163)
Ok, so the FT Shooter can be whoever the coach or captain designates.

There are restrictions, can you tell me what they are?

fullor30 Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 651143)
Here we go. :rolleyes: They got ejected for smacking the guy working the table! Now, there you go.

Nice!!!!

Amesman Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:00pm

I thought somehow it was all mentioned in there between Fiasco and Snaq's comments, etc. but maybe not. Just to try to clear this up in my studious noggin sooner than later, I'll drop my 2 cents in the bucket: Anyone on the team (OK, anyone who is legally entered in the book, lest there be another T) can shoot either of the FTs. BUT if anyone is subbed for, that unskilled FT shootin' sonofagun must sit for at least one tick of the game clock before being allowed any kind of re-entry. Clock operators may never shoot FTs, for techs or otherwise. Even if this is wrong in some way, thanks for the entertainment, TJ.

chseagle Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651168)
There are restrictions, can you tell me what they are?

Well as I'm reading & understanding 8-3 an eligible substitute, a currently active player, or designated starter.

So if a player started the game on the court then they can shoot the FTs, correct?

Or is this just limited to the current active players or those waiting at the table before the T happened?

Adam Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 651173)
Well as I'm reading & understanding 8-3 an eligible substitute, a currently active player, or designated starter.

So if a player started the game on the court then they can shoot the FTs, correct?

Or is this just limited to the current active players or those waiting at the table before the T happened?

Designated starters is really only an issue at the beginning of the game, before anyone becomes an active player.

Current players is self-explanatory.

The key to the final group is the word "eligible," this should help you figure out what the restrictions are.

grunewar Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:13pm

What if.....
 
A15 on his way to the table stopped to tie his shoes, would you pause the game and allow him to do that before you waived him in to shoot free throws.....

oops, sorry, wrong thread......

chseagle Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651181)
Designated starters is really only an issue at the beginning of the game, before anyone becomes an active player.

Current players is self-explanatory.

The key to the final group is the word "eligible," this should help you figure out what the restrictions are.

If I am reading & understanding the wording of the case play for 8-3 (as stated below) correctly, any player can come in to shoot the FTs as long as they have not fouled out or been DQ'd. However they cannot be subbed for until the clock has properly started. (The case play lists a start of game sitch, not a middle of game sitch)

8.3 SITUATION: A technical foul is issued prior to the start of the game & the game begins with free throws. Non-starter, A6, is brought in to the game to attempt the free throws & replaces starter A5.

RULING: Legal substitute. The ball becomes live to start the game when placed at A6’s disposal. A6 & A5 are subject to proper substitution rules. A5 may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been properly started. (3-2-2a; 3-3-4)

tjones1 Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:26pm

Hint or leading you in the wrong direction?
 
This situation happened following a time-out. The ball became live; however, the clock never started.

Does this matter?

Something to think about...

jdw3018 Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 651191)
However they cannot be subbed for until the clock has properly started.

Any player can be "subbed for" at any time. However, a player who has already been "subbed for" cannot re-enter the game until after time the clock has started.

A6 could sub in for A5 to shoot the first FT. Now A5 must wait until the clock has started to re-enter.

Then A7 could sub for A6 to shoot the second FT. Now A5 and A6 must wait for the clock to start to re-enter.

Then A8 could sub for A7 after the second FT. Now A5, A6, and A7 must wait for the clock to start before re-entering.

Adam Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:29pm

Okay, I've dragged this on long enough. You're very close. I'm going to change the OP slightly.
First half, shooting foul called on B1, putting A1 at the line for two shots. It's B1's third, so coach sends a sub to the table. After the first shot, B6 comes in for B1. After B1 gets to the bench, A1 turns and taunts him. Official calls a T.

A) Coach wants to sub B1 back in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in in order to prevent the fourth foul. Is this allowed?

B) Coach wants to put B7 in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in because he's not really that great a player other than shooting free throws. Is this allowed?

chseagle Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 651192)
This situation happened following a time-out. The ball became live; however, the clock never started.

Does this matter?

Something to think about...

Did the subs report to the scorer before the warning horn?

Also was the time-out between FT attempts?

tjones1 Wed Jan 13, 2010 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 651197)
Did the subs report to the scorer before the warning horn?

Also was the time-out between FT attempts?

Re-read the OP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1