The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
There are restrictions, can you tell me what they are?
Well as I'm reading & understanding 8-3 an eligible substitute, a currently active player, or designated starter.

So if a player started the game on the court then they can shoot the FTs, correct?

Or is this just limited to the current active players or those waiting at the table before the T happened?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Well as I'm reading & understanding 8-3 an eligible substitute, a currently active player, or designated starter.

So if a player started the game on the court then they can shoot the FTs, correct?

Or is this just limited to the current active players or those waiting at the table before the T happened?
Designated starters is really only an issue at the beginning of the game, before anyone becomes an active player.

Current players is self-explanatory.

The key to the final group is the word "eligible," this should help you figure out what the restrictions are.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Designated starters is really only an issue at the beginning of the game, before anyone becomes an active player.

Current players is self-explanatory.

The key to the final group is the word "eligible," this should help you figure out what the restrictions are.
If I am reading & understanding the wording of the case play for 8-3 (as stated below) correctly, any player can come in to shoot the FTs as long as they have not fouled out or been DQ'd. However they cannot be subbed for until the clock has properly started. (The case play lists a start of game sitch, not a middle of game sitch)

8.3 SITUATION: A technical foul is issued prior to the start of the game & the game begins with free throws. Non-starter, A6, is brought in to the game to attempt the free throws & replaces starter A5.

RULING: Legal substitute. The ball becomes live to start the game when placed at A6’s disposal. A6 & A5 are subject to proper substitution rules. A5 may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been properly started. (3-2-2a; 3-3-4)
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:26pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Hint or leading you in the wrong direction?

This situation happened following a time-out. The ball became live; however, the clock never started.

Does this matter?

Something to think about...
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
This situation happened following a time-out. The ball became live; however, the clock never started.

Does this matter?

Something to think about...
Did the subs report to the scorer before the warning horn?

Also was the time-out between FT attempts?
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:35pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Did the subs report to the scorer before the warning horn?

Also was the time-out between FT attempts?
Re-read the OP.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 12:41am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Re: Hint or leading you in the wrong direction

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
This situation happened following a time-out. The ball became live; however, the clock never started.

Does this matter?

Something to think about...
Well, I was doing both. It matters that the ball became live and then dead but it doesn't matter for this situation that the clock never started.

Every person that Team A's coach wants to shoot the free throw can.


Side note: As I said, this situation tripped me up. For some DA reason, I came up with the idea that following a time-out a tick must come off before subs can enter. Obviously, I was able to come up with a situation or two that proved this wrong and brought me to my senses...with the help of Illini_Ref. Anyways, I deserve a good slap on the back of the head for being a silly monkey for a couple hours today.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
However they cannot be subbed for until the clock has properly started.
Any player can be "subbed for" at any time. However, a player who has already been "subbed for" cannot re-enter the game until after time the clock has started.

A6 could sub in for A5 to shoot the first FT. Now A5 must wait until the clock has started to re-enter.

Then A7 could sub for A6 to shoot the second FT. Now A5 and A6 must wait for the clock to start to re-enter.

Then A8 could sub for A7 after the second FT. Now A5, A6, and A7 must wait for the clock to start before re-entering.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Okay, I've dragged this on long enough. You're very close. I'm going to change the OP slightly.
First half, shooting foul called on B1, putting A1 at the line for two shots. It's B1's third, so coach sends a sub to the table. After the first shot, B6 comes in for B1. After B1 gets to the bench, A1 turns and taunts him. Official calls a T.

A) Coach wants to sub B1 back in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in in order to prevent the fourth foul. Is this allowed?

B) Coach wants to put B7 in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in because he's not really that great a player other than shooting free throws. Is this allowed?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Okay, I've dragged this on long enough. You're very close. I'm going to change the OP slightly.
First half, shooting foul called on B1, putting A1 at the line for two shots. It's B1's third, so coach sends a sub to the table. After the first shot, B6 comes in for B1. After B1 gets to the bench, A1 turns and taunts him. Official calls a T.

A) Coach wants to sub B1 back in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in in order to prevent the fourth foul. Is this allowed?

B) Coach wants to put B7 in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in because he's not really that great a player other than shooting free throws. Is this allowed?
A) Not allowed. B1 cannot entered until the next opportunity to sub after the clock has legally ran.

B) Legal as long as he isn't replaced by B1 or whomever B7 came in for.

My question is this. Say a sub reports after the warning horn during a time-out AND he is not a player that was subbed for since the clock was stopped prior to the time-out. Let's say he hasn't even been in the game yet.

The sub is not allowed to enter. The ball is handed to the thrower and before the ball is inbounded a foul is called on B1.

Can the sub at the table enter at this time? I say yes. I think that the clock running only applies to someone who is subbed for and wishes to re-enter.

Am I correct?
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 04:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
My question is this. Say a sub reports after the warning horn during a time-out AND he is not a player that was subbed for since the clock was stopped prior to the time-out. Let's say he hasn't even been in the game yet.

The sub is not allowed to enter. The ball is handed to the thrower and before the ball is inbounded a foul is called on B1.

Can the sub at the table enter at this time? I say yes. I think that the clock running only applies to someone who is subbed for and wishes to re-enter.

Am I correct?
Yes, you are correct. The rule is that player must wait until the next opportunity to sub; that opportunity comes, in this case, with the foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 04:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Here's one from my game last night.

A6 reports to the table during play. The next opportunity for her to come in happens to be a shooting foul. The coach requests a timeout as the official is reporting the foul.

When can this sub enter?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Okay, I've dragged this on long enough. You're very close. I'm going to change the OP slightly.
First half, shooting foul called on B1, putting A1 at the line for two shots. It's B1's third, so coach sends a sub to the table. After the first shot, B6 comes in for B1. After B1 gets to the bench, A1 turns and taunts him. Official calls a T.

A) Coach wants to sub B1 back in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in in order to prevent the fourth foul. Is this allowed?

B) Coach wants to put B7 in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in because he's not really that great a player other than shooting free throws. Is this allowed?
In the spirit of what's going on here, have tried to find citations in either rules or case book but haven't been successful. But seems I remember this discussion coming up before, at least in part.

A) So I don't have a citation, but I'm gonna say since B1 was subbed for in this sequence, he is not an eligible sub (until a tick comes off the clock), so, no, this isn't allowed.

B) Yes, if B7 was simply on the bench (or otherwise eligible), he can shoot the Tech FTs and be subbed for. Rules say you have to sit for at least a tick, not necessarily play for a tick.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 04:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
In the spirit of what's going on here, have tried to find citations in either rules or case book but haven't been successful. But seems I remember this discussion coming up before, at least in part.

A) So I don't have a citation, but I'm gonna say since B1 was subbed for in this sequence, he is not an eligible sub (until a tick comes off the clock), so, no, this isn't allowed.

B) Yes, if B7 was simply on the bench (or otherwise eligible), he can shoot the Tech FTs and be subbed for. Rules say you have to sit for at least a tick, not necessarily play for a tick.
Yep
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:13pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Lightbulb What if.....

A15 on his way to the table stopped to tie his shoes, would you pause the game and allow him to do that before you waived him in to shoot free throws.....

oops, sorry, wrong thread......
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For New Posters (and some veterans, too) IRISHMAFIA Softball 4 Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:42pm
you make the call budjones05 Basketball 42 Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:44am
Favorite posters Mark Padgett Basketball 20 Sat Apr 03, 2004 11:11am
You make the call 2... w_sohl Basketball 10 Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm
You Make The Call! ump24 Baseball 4 Fri Feb 23, 2001 05:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1