![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() It's true, it's true... however, it's not part of this situation... I'm posting their situation later. LOL, thanks tomegun! Last edited by tjones1; Wed Jan 13, 2010 at 02:37pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I thought somehow it was all mentioned in there between Fiasco and Snaq's comments, etc. but maybe not. Just to try to clear this up in my studious noggin sooner than later, I'll drop my 2 cents in the bucket: Anyone on the team (OK, anyone who is legally entered in the book, lest there be another T) can shoot either of the FTs. BUT if anyone is subbed for, that unskilled FT shootin' sonofagun must sit for at least one tick of the game clock before being allowed any kind of re-entry. Clock operators may never shoot FTs, for techs or otherwise. Even if this is wrong in some way, thanks for the entertainment, TJ.
|
|
|||
Well as I'm reading & understanding 8-3 an eligible substitute, a currently active player, or designated starter.
So if a player started the game on the court then they can shoot the FTs, correct? Or is this just limited to the current active players or those waiting at the table before the T happened? |
|
||||
Quote:
Current players is self-explanatory. The key to the final group is the word "eligible," this should help you figure out what the restrictions are.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
![]()
A15 on his way to the table stopped to tie his shoes, would you pause the game and allow him to do that before you waived him in to shoot free throws.....
oops, sorry, wrong thread......
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Quote:
8.3 SITUATION: A technical foul is issued prior to the start of the game & the game begins with free throws. Non-starter, A6, is brought in to the game to attempt the free throws & replaces starter A5. RULING: Legal substitute. The ball becomes live to start the game when placed at A6’s disposal. A6 & A5 are subject to proper substitution rules. A5 may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been properly started. (3-2-2a; 3-3-4) |
|
|||
Quote:
A6 could sub in for A5 to shoot the first FT. Now A5 must wait until the clock has started to re-enter. Then A7 could sub for A6 to shoot the second FT. Now A5 and A6 must wait for the clock to start to re-enter. Then A8 could sub for A7 after the second FT. Now A5, A6, and A7 must wait for the clock to start before re-entering. |
|
||||
Okay, I've dragged this on long enough. You're very close. I'm going to change the OP slightly.
First half, shooting foul called on B1, putting A1 at the line for two shots. It's B1's third, so coach sends a sub to the table. After the first shot, B6 comes in for B1. After B1 gets to the bench, A1 turns and taunts him. Official calls a T. A) Coach wants to sub B1 back in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in in order to prevent the fourth foul. Is this allowed? B) Coach wants to put B7 in to shoot the free throws for the T, since he's the best shooter. He then wants to take him out before the throw-in because he's not really that great a player other than shooting free throws. Is this allowed?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Also was the time-out between FT attempts? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
For New Posters (and some veterans, too) | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 4 | Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:42pm |
you make the call | budjones05 | Basketball | 42 | Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:44am |
Favorite posters | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 20 | Sat Apr 03, 2004 11:11am |
You make the call 2... | w_sohl | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm |
You Make The Call! | ump24 | Baseball | 4 | Fri Feb 23, 2001 05:51pm |