![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
9.2.2 Situation A |
|
|||
|
I Was Thinking The Same Thing ...
9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1: (a) causes the ball to carom from the wall
behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroms the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw touched an object out of bounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
7-5-7a Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the endline to a teammate(s) outside the boundary. I assume this is what some are basing their argument on? However, 9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1: (a) causes the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroms the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw touched an object out of bounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds. I'd say it's a violation based on it touching an object other than a player out of bounds. |
|
|||
|
Inquiring Minds ???
On a "run the endline" throwin, can A1 throw a bounce pass to A2, both whom are out of bounds? Is the ball touching the floor out of bounds on such a bounce pass (not a dribble, which is legal on all throwins) the same as the ball touching a wall on such a pass out of bounds?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, 9.2.2 Situation D states a player may bounce the ball on the floor on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in. The wall is not on the floor. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
If the ball goes from the wall to the court, it's a violation. No argument there. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, once released on the throwin pass, it is prohibited from touching anything OOB before going inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And 99.9999999999999999999999999999999999999% of the passes along the end-line do not involve the wall. The ruels / cases can't cover every contingency (what if it was a stage? A photographer? A speaker? ....) Since it's just a pass to a team-mate, what possible advantage could the offense gain by making the pass more difficult? So, allow it. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Wild throw question | Jhmoron | Softball | 1 | Mon May 07, 2007 11:38pm |
| Pressure situation | LarryS | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jan 26, 2007 04:45pm |
| Air Pressure | JCrow | Basketball | 13 | Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:35pm |
| Wild Throw | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Tue Nov 09, 2004 04:57pm |
| What pressure defense? | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 7 | Sun Mar 31, 2002 01:45pm |