The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 06:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post

If the A1 was fouled before the release of the shot, there would still be team control, thus the POI would be two free throws for A1. Is that correct?
Lah me.....

See rule 10-6PENALTIES1(d).

Then see rule 4-36-2(a)

No FT's and team A gets a throw-in(without the arrow changing).

Now you guys tell me where the A throw-in location is, by rule? And a rules reference would be just peachy-keen too.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jan 07, 2010 at 06:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Lah me.....

See rule 10-6PENALTIES1(d).

Then see rule 4-36-2(a)

No FT's and team gets a throw-in(without the arrow changing).

Now you guys tell me where the A throw-in location is, by rule? And a rules reference would be just peachy-keen too.
Well that would be the spot nearest to where the ball was located at the time of interruption 4.19.10
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 06:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Well that would be the spot nearest to where the ball was located at the time of interruption 4.19.10
Actually it's in rule 4-36-2(a), as I cited in the same post asking that question. I was just kinda wondering if anybody would take the time to look that cite up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Actually it's in rule 4-36-2(a), as I cited in the same post asking that question. I was just kinda wondering if anybody would take the time to look that cite up.
I was about to put that, but the case book used clearer language to me. It also cites 7-5-3b
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Thanks for the explanation. My "disappearance" was because I went to play some pick-up basketball with my buddies at the local Y. But I just wanted to say thanks.

So according to your explanations, we pretty much did everything correct, except that we called it a double foul instead of simultaneous. I emailed my partner prior to leaving and told him that we got it all right except that it is a simultaneous foul instead of double foul. He has emailed me back to say that he agreed after reading the rulebook on that one.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 08, 2010, 07:00am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Thanks for the explanation.
So according to your explanations, we pretty much did everything correct, except that we called it a double foul instead of simultaneous. I emailed my partner prior to leaving and told him that we got it all right except that it is a simultaneous foul instead of double foul.
Yeah, you got everything right except that neither of you also knew that you had to go to the POI instead of an AP. You just got lucky because in your particular situation the POI also happened to be an AP.

Sooooo, before you and your partner throw out a shoulder patting each other on the back, you should both realize that (a) neither of you knew the correct rules or how to apply them, and (b) it was sheer luck that the play ended up being called correctly.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Jan 08, 2010 at 07:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 08, 2010, 11:38am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Yeah, you got everything right except that neither of you also knew that you had to go to the POI instead of an AP. You just got lucky because in your particular situation the POI also happened to be an AP.

Sooooo, before you and your partner throw out a shoulder patting each other on the back, you should both realize that (a) neither of you knew the correct rules or how to apply them, and (b) it was sheer luck that the play ended up being called correctly.
LOL, Way to burst his bubble JR.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 08, 2010, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Yeah, you got everything right except that neither of you also knew that you had to go to the POI instead of an AP. You just got lucky because in your particular situation the POI also happened to be an AP.

Sooooo, before you and your partner throw out a shoulder patting each other on the back, you should both realize that (a) neither of you knew the correct rules or how to apply them, and (b) it was sheer luck that the play ended up being called correctly.
Yeah, I realize that now. It was sheer luck. I don't know what my partner was thinking, maybe he did think "ok, it's POI", just didn't say that when we got together for that.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 08, 2010, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
As a 2nd yr. newbie (not board certified) I've found this thread very helpful in getting a clearer understanding of double and simultaneous fouls. I have always found these confusing on tests and despite my wearing the print off the applicable sections of the rule book and case book regarding double&simultaneous fouls I've never felt confident in my ability to recognize which one occurred, determine if player and/or team control existed, and administer the whole thing properly, with confidence and certainty in the heat of a game. I'm sure like the OP, I may have gotten it right by luck...not by firm knowledge and understanding of all aspects of the rule.
To Jurassic, Tim,& Bits, thanks for your replies...with my books on my lap and reading and re-reading your posts I think now I've got it down, here's my own recap...kind of a way for me to keep it straight on the court in the heat of a game:
(1) A1&B1 commit a PF or TF on each other at approx. the same time=
DOUBLE FOUL 4-19-8 (a) (Ex> A1&B1 shoving each other underneath the basket)
(2) A1 commits a PF or TF on B1 AND at approx. the same time A2 commits a PF or TF on B2=
SIMULTANEOUS FOUL 4-19-10 (Ex> Sitch in OP)
(3) Each player is charged with a PF
(4) No FREE THROWS and resume play at POI
10-6 Summary 1(c) and 1(d) and 4-36-1; 4-36-2(a) or 4-36-2(b)
EXCEPT if there was no team control then....
(5) Resume play by the A/P arrow 4-36-2(c)
(6) If any of the fouls are flagrant player 9s) who committed flagrant foul(s) are DQ'd.
Do I have it right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's All Over Tonight Welpe Football 0 Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:46pm
It was fun again tonight! refnrev Basketball 5 Wed Jan 24, 2007 09:33am
Had an IW tonight ChickenOfNC Football 19 Sun Oct 29, 2006 07:27pm
Calling by myself tonight..... danreeves1973 Baseball 19 Thu May 26, 2005 01:47pm
Tonight - 1:15 and out. mick Basketball 23 Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1