The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
It's not a double foul; it's a simultaneous foul. Double fouls are committed by 2 opponents against each other. That didn't happen in your situation.

You charge each player with a foul, no FT's are shot and you resume at the POI. In this particular case, the POI also happens to be the arrow.

See rules 4-19-10, 4-36-2(c) and 10-6PENALTIES1(d).
Wow, we really got it wrong then (except the part that no FT are shot). Thanks.

And now that you mentioned it, the POI would be the arrow because of no team possession.

Do Simultaneous fouls cancel each other out, which would be the reason not to be shooting anything? What if either team was in the bonus?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Wow, we really got it wrong then (except the part that no FT are shot). Thanks.

And now that you mentioned it, the POI would be the arrow because of no team possession.

Do Simultaneous fouls cancel each other out, which would be the reason not to be shooting anything? What if either team was in the bonus?
Because.....wait for it...... that's the rule...

PENALTIES: (Rule 10 Summary)
1. No free throws:
a. For each common foul before the bonus rule is in effect.
b. For a player-control or team-control foul.
c. For double personal or technical fouls (point of interruption).
d. For simultaneous personal or technical fouls by opponents (point of
interruption).
e. After time has expired for the fourth quarter (or extra period), unless
the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 06:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Do Simultaneous fouls cancel each other out, which would be the reason not to be shooting anything? What if either team was in the bonus?
See rule 10-6PENALTIES1(d).

That's kinda why I looked it up for you...so you could look it up....and learn it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's All Over Tonight Welpe Football 0 Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:46pm
It was fun again tonight! refnrev Basketball 5 Wed Jan 24, 2007 09:33am
Had an IW tonight ChickenOfNC Football 19 Sun Oct 29, 2006 07:27pm
Calling by myself tonight..... danreeves1973 Baseball 19 Thu May 26, 2005 01:47pm
Tonight - 1:15 and out. mick Basketball 23 Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1