The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket Interfernce / Goaltending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56266-basket-interfernce-goaltending.html)

Gargil Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:35am

Basket Interfernce / Goaltending
 
A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 while shooting, B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot, shaking the backboard and rim while the ball bounces off of the backboard and rim and does not go in.
Is this goaltending, basket counts and one shot or basket interference? How would you administer if basket interference was the call?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:42am

It's a technical foul charged to B2. It is also basket interference if the ball was on or within the basket when B2 grabbed the net. If so, count the basket, have A1 shoot 1 FT with the lanes empty, team A now gets 2 FT's for the "T" with the lanes empty(any A player(s) can shoot), and then give team A a throw-in at center opposite the table.

Raymond Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648678)
It's a technical foul charged to B2. It is also basket interference if the ball was on or within the basket when B2 grabbed the net. If so, count the basket, have A1 shoot 1 FT with the lanes empty and then give team A a throw-in at center opposite the table.

Whaaa happened to the 2 free throws for the T?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648682)
Whaaa happened to the 2 free throws for the T?

Senior moment? Alzenheimers? Stoopidity?

Your choice....and fixed.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648676)
A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 while shooting, B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot, shaking the backboard and rim while the ball bounces off of the backboard and rim and does not go in.
Is this goaltending, basket counts and one shot or basket interference? How would you administer if basket interference was the call?

Was the ball in the cylinder? If it was, you could call BI. If it wasn't, you can't.
I also agree with JR, I've never seen a player pull on the net while trying to block a shot.

referee99 Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:41am

explain...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648676)
A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 while shooting, B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot, shaking the backboard and rim while the ball bounces off of the backboard and rim and does not go in.

... in more detail what "B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot" means.
Grabbing net with one hand and attempting block with the other?
Attempting block, hitting net, getting 'caught' in it and thus pulling it?

Gargil Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:56am

The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 648730)
... in more detail what "B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot" means.
Grabbing net with one hand and attempting block with the other?
Attempting block, hitting net, getting 'caught' in it and thus pulling it?

What difference does it make in either of those situations?:confused:

They're both technical fouls. The only exception is if the player grasped the net to avoid injury, and it's kinda tough to say that if the player is trying to block the ball at the same time.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648738)
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.

Sounds like BI, no T.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648727)
Was the ball in the cylinder? If it was, you could call BI. If it wasn't, you can't.

Say what?

It ain't BI to touch or grasp the net while the ball is in the cylinder. The ball has to be on or within the basket when you grab the net. It's BI if you touch the ball when it's in the cylinder.

You know that.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648738)
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.

Now you're citing 2 completely different situations. In one the player is trying to block a shot while grabbing the net. In the other, he's pulling on the net to try to avoid falling on a player under him.

If you want a correct answer, you have to pick one or the other. They're completely different situations, rules-wise.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648742)
Sounds like BI, no T.

Agree in that situation(if the ball was on or within the basket). However that situation is completely different than the one described in the OP.

Two different situations described with two different rulings.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648745)
Say what?

It ain't BI to touch or grasp the net while the ball is in the cylinder. The ball has to be on or within the basket when you grab the net. It's BI if you touch the ball when it's in the cylinder.

You know that.

Doh! You're right! I'm still tired from overturning neighbors' cars and lighting them on fire last night after the Orange Bowl.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648756)
Doh! You're right! I'm still tired from overturning neighbors' cars and lighting them on fire last night after the Orange Bowl.

I figgered you'd have a good reason.:D

bob jenkins Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648751)
Now you're citing 2 completely different situations. In one the player is trying to block a shot while grabbing the net. In the other, he's pulling on the net to try to avoid falling on a player under him.

If you want a correct answer, you have to pick one or the other. They're completely different situations, rules-wise.

I thnk he now has 4 different situations:

1) Ball is either on the basket or in the imaginary cylinder when the net pulling occurs

2) Grabs the net while blocking the shot or pulls on it to avoid players.

No wonder he can't get an answer to his question -- he doesn't know what the question is.

(And, I don't mean that as demeaning to the OP. It's just an example of why precision is important -- sometimes even the difference between "baseline" and "endline" might matter. And, it's an example of how mistaken rulings get passed around.)

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648738)
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.

Okay, now that I've had my caffeine:
"Above the cylinder," to me, implies it was not on the basket. It was above it. BI is not an option here with the net.

From your first post, I'm not sure if the ball hit the rim before the rim returned to it's original position. If the rim was just shaking, which is how you worded it, then I'm assuming the rim never really left it's original position.

No BI.

If the player was trying to protect himself by grabbing the net, you shouldn't call the T either.

It's nothing but the original shooting foul, then.

Gargil Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:52am

I was not working the V game, I was spectating. I saw the ball in the imaginary cylindar and non intentional BI. Count the basket and shoot one freethrow.
The Officials had a long conference and decided no shot, foul on the floor. (I thought was a bad call)
I was asking the question to see if I would have administered what I saw correctly. The grabbing of the net was a judgement call.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 648772)
I thnk he now has 4 different situations:

1) Ball is either on the basket or in the imaginary cylinder when the net pulling occurs

2) Grabs the net while blocking the shot or pulls on it to avoid players.

No wonder he can't get an answer to his question -- he doesn't know what the question is.

(And, I don't mean that as demeaning to the OP. It's just an example of why precision is important -- sometimes even the difference between "baseline" and "endline" might matter. And, it's an example of how mistaken rulings get passed around.)

Agree. Good point made for everybody about being very specific if you want a correct answer to your question.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648780)
I saw the ball in the imaginary cylindar and non intentional BI. Count the basket and shoot one freethrow.
The Officials had a long conference and decided no shot, foul on the floor. (I thought was a bad call)
I was asking the question to see if I would have administered what I saw correctly. The grabbing of the net was a judgement call.

It is not BI to grab the ring/net when the ball is in the cylinder. And it is not a technical foul to grasp the ring/net if you're doing so to avoid an injury. And intent NEVER is a factor in determining whether BI or goaltending should be called. And it's the calling official's judgment ONLY that decides whether a player was fouled before or in the act of shooting.

All of that adds up to us really not knowing what the exact situation was.

Little advice.....don't label anything as being a "bad call" when you don't have any idea what the call actually was.

AKOFL Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:23pm

I have not found where is says to T a player for hanging on the net. The T for hanging on the rim I have found. Do we reason this to be the same thing. The net is treated the same as the rim as far as hanging on goes?

bob jenkins Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 648801)
The T for hanging on the rim I have found.

Where did you find the T for "hanging on the RIM?" ;)

Camron Rust Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648789)
It is not BI to grab the ring/net when the ball is in the cylinder.

Except for one possible piece that no one has mentioned (or I overlooked it)....

If the basket is grabbed (pulled down) such that the rim has not returned to its normal position when the ball contacts the rim, it is also BI...even if the grab occurs with the ball in the cylinder.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 648804)
Except for one possible piece that no one has mentioned (or I overlooked it)....

If the basket is grabbed (pulled down) such that the rim has not returned to its normal position when the ball contacts the rim, it is also BI...even if the grab occurs with the ball in the cylinder.

Got it. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648777)
From your first post, I'm not sure if the ball hit the rim before the rim returned to it's original position. If the rim was just shaking, which is how you worded it, then I'm assuming the rim never really left it's original position.

No BI.


AKOFL Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 648803)
Where did you find the T for "hanging on the RIM?" ;)

That was the wording in the rules by topic. It uses the term basket in the rule book so I guess that would include the ring and net. Correct?

bob jenkins Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 648810)
That was the wording in the rules by topic. It uses the term basket in the rule book so I guess that would include the ring and net. Correct?

Just one reason why I don't care for Rules By Topic (or the previously often0-used "Simplified and Illustrated").

"Basket" is defined in 1-10. ;)

AKOFL Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 648813)
Just one reason why I don't care for Rules By Topic (or the previously often0-used "Simplified and Illustrated").

"Basket" is defined in 1-10. ;)

Yep. just looked at it. Thnks BOB:D

BillyMac Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:59pm

This Is A Job For The Mythbusters ...
 
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:55pm

I'm wondering about the T brought up earlier in the discussion. I see two rules that could come in to play here:

"Grasp either basket during the time of the officials’ jurisdiction, dunk or stuff, or attempt to dunk or stuff a dead ball prior to or during the game or during any intermission until jurisdiction of the officials has ended. This item applies to all team members.
EXCEPTION: A player may grasp the basket to prevent injury." (NFHS 10-3-3)

and

"Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket." (NFHS 10-3-4)

In the first, the mere act of grasping the net, which I envision as an active and deliberate act (quite different that simply getting caught or tangled in the net while attempting to block a shot), clearly warrants a T.

In the second, it matters how you parse the text. If the qualifier "intentionally" applies to "slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate" you get a different result than if it only applies to "slapping or striking the backboard". Unintentionally getting caught in the net, but in doing so causing the ring to vibrate would be a T if "intentionally" only applies to "slapping or striking the backboard".

I'm of the opinion that "intentionally" qualifies the entire phrase "slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate". Does anybody disagree?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1