![]() |
Quote:
"Above the cylinder," to me, implies it was not on the basket. It was above it. BI is not an option here with the net. From your first post, I'm not sure if the ball hit the rim before the rim returned to it's original position. If the rim was just shaking, which is how you worded it, then I'm assuming the rim never really left it's original position. No BI. If the player was trying to protect himself by grabbing the net, you shouldn't call the T either. It's nothing but the original shooting foul, then. |
I was not working the V game, I was spectating. I saw the ball in the imaginary cylindar and non intentional BI. Count the basket and shoot one freethrow.
The Officials had a long conference and decided no shot, foul on the floor. (I thought was a bad call) I was asking the question to see if I would have administered what I saw correctly. The grabbing of the net was a judgement call. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
All of that adds up to us really not knowing what the exact situation was. Little advice.....don't label anything as being a "bad call" when you don't have any idea what the call actually was. |
I have not found where is says to T a player for hanging on the net. The T for hanging on the rim I have found. Do we reason this to be the same thing. The net is treated the same as the rim as far as hanging on goes?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the basket is grabbed (pulled down) such that the rim has not returned to its normal position when the ball contacts the rim, it is also BI...even if the grab occurs with the ball in the cylinder. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
"Basket" is defined in 1-10. ;) |
Quote:
|
This Is A Job For The Mythbusters ...
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.
|
I'm wondering about the T brought up earlier in the discussion. I see two rules that could come in to play here:
"Grasp either basket during the time of the officials’ jurisdiction, dunk or stuff, or attempt to dunk or stuff a dead ball prior to or during the game or during any intermission until jurisdiction of the officials has ended. This item applies to all team members. EXCEPTION: A player may grasp the basket to prevent injury." (NFHS 10-3-3) and "Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket." (NFHS 10-3-4) In the first, the mere act of grasping the net, which I envision as an active and deliberate act (quite different that simply getting caught or tangled in the net while attempting to block a shot), clearly warrants a T. In the second, it matters how you parse the text. If the qualifier "intentionally" applies to "slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate" you get a different result than if it only applies to "slapping or striking the backboard". Unintentionally getting caught in the net, but in doing so causing the ring to vibrate would be a T if "intentionally" only applies to "slapping or striking the backboard". I'm of the opinion that "intentionally" qualifies the entire phrase "slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate". Does anybody disagree? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56am. |