The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 01, 2010, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member

"I'll show these coaches who's boss!"

In my past life as a basketball coach, I overheard an official tell the table this just prior to the game. And he did - I was given my first ever technical foul, standing outside the coaching box talking to one of my players.

This official was down court (lead), so I asked the nearby official what the technical was for (I thought it was on one of my players). The nearby official shrugged and said that he didn't know. When I asked the calling official what the "T" was for (still a little confused), he walked toward me threatening another "T". Wow.

By the way, in 8 years of coaching that was my only "T".

Being an ex-coach sometimes give you some perspective on what you like and don't like when working with officials.

I liked officials who were professional and approachable.
Old Fri Jan 01, 2010, 05:17pm
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Shame you had a bad apple....

Quote:
Originally Posted by MelbRef View Post
I like(d) players, coaches, teachers, mailmen, neighbors, store employees, and anyone else who is cordial, polite, nice, and professional no matter who they are and/or what they do.

Let's not condemn all, because of a bad one.....and I don't get that impression from your post.
Old Fri Jan 01, 2010, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member

Let's not condemn all, because of a bad one.....and I don't get that impression from your post.[/QUOTE]

Yes, please don't. I have had some great officials. This was one bad apple, and I thought a little perspective from an ex-coach might be of interest.
Old Fri Jan 01, 2010, 05:44pm
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Good for you!