The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Similar to Welpe's situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56066-similar-welpes-situation.html)

jdw3018 Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 645220)
He mentioned that the part in red was what he would have done then but now knows the err of his ways. The rest speaks for itself. One step forward, two steps back...

Ah, I see that now. Thanks. This thread is confusing me. :D

jdw3018 Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645224)
What's wrong with blue? I would like your clarification please.

You state you would inbound the ball under the basket. Why?

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 645228)
You state you would inbound the ball under the basket. Why?

Flagrant and intentional fouls are at POI. Only technical fouls are at division line.

Edit: Read 7.5.4b and 7.5.6a

Rich Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 645218)
Didn't you indicate that the player bumped you before you reported the personal foul? If so, above in red is not correct.

And I don't have a clue how you came up with this.

Yes, it's laughably bad.

representing needs to step back and try to understand how many rules he's missed in this one scenario:

(1) It would be a flagrant technical foul. It's still a technical, so the throw-in is at the division line.

(2) Since the coach hadn't been notified of the player's 5th foul, he's not bench personnel at the time of the flagrant technical, so the coach does not receive an indirect technical foul.

We ran into a parent in the parking lot who seemed to be waiting for us. He was quite complimentary, even though his kid's team lost by 18 points -- he was amazed at how much "stress" we must be under. I actually laughed and said that I probably feel the least stress of anyone out there.

jdw3018 Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645229)
Flagrant and intentional fouls are at POI. Only technical fouls are at division line.

Edit: Read 7.5.4b and 7.5.6a

Oh dear.

Edit: 7-5-4 b. has nothing to do with this play.

(And just as an FYI, the appropriate way to reference rules is with dashes, periods are for casebook plays. It helps keep everyone on the same page.)

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 645230)
Yes, it's laughably bad.

representing needs to step back and try to understand how many rules he's missed in this one scenario:

(1) It would be a flagrant technical foul. It's still a technical, so the throw-in is at the division line.

(2) Since the coach hadn't been notified of the player's 5th foul, he's not bench personnel at the time of the flagrant technical, so the coach does not receive an indirect technical foul.

We ran into a parent in the parking lot who seemed to be waiting for us. He was quite complimentary, even though his kid's team lost by 18 points -- he was amazed at how much "stress" we must be under. I actually laughed and said that I probably feel the least stress of anyone out there.

Oh, really? I thought Flagrant technical and personal fouls were all still under the classification of Flagrant, which would put the ball at POI. Thanks for correcting me. But I can't find anything in the book about the difference between flagrant personal and flagrant technical.

EDIT: I said I was wrong about number 2 in my post about the situation. YOU should read everything, so you wouldn't make a statement like that.

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 645233)
Oh dear.

Edit: 7-5-4 b. has nothing to do with this play.

(And just as an FYI, the appropriate way to reference rules is with dashes, periods are for casebook plays. It helps keep everyone on the same page.)

thanks for the fyi.

tjones1 Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645234)
oh, really? I thought flagrant technical and personal fouls were all still under the classification of flagrant, which would put the ball at poi. Thanks for correcting me. But i can't find anything in the book about the difference between flagrant personal and flagrant technical.

4-19-4

tomegun Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 645233)
Oh dear.

Thank you for the laugh.

Summary:
  • Official is bumped after calling foul, but before reporting
  • Foul was player's 5th
  • Official does nothing
  • Official posts situation on website
  • Official gets responses, but doesn't receive them well
  • Official says he handles situations even though he didn't
  • Official posts what he would have done with glaring rules application errors
  • Official admits errors in what he would have done, but not all errors
  • (Hopefully) official takes every bit of advice given to include reading the rule book for comprehension

jdw3018 Wed Dec 23, 2009 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645234)
Oh, really? I thought Flagrant technical and personal fouls were all still under the classification of Flagrant, which would put the ball at POI. Thanks for correcting me. But I can't find anything in the book about the difference between flagrant personal and flagrant technical.

EDIT: I said I was wrong about number 2 in my post about the situation. YOU should read everything, so you wouldn't make a statement like that.

Any type of technical foul is a technical foul for administration purposes. It means that any player may attempt the free throws, and the ball is put into play at the division line.

A flagrant foul is simply a special type of a personal foul or technical foul. You'll note in 7.5.4 b. that it references a flagrant personal foul only.

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 645237)
4-19-4

So it would be flagrant technical because the contact occurred during dead-ball. I got it now. Thanks TJ.

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 645239)
Any type of technical foul is a technical foul for administration purposes. It means that any player may attempt the free throws, and the ball is put into play at the division line.

A flagrant foul is simply a special type of a personal foul or technical foul. You'll note in 7.5.4 b. that it references a flagrant personal foul only.

Ok, thanks for the clarification.

BayStateRef Wed Dec 23, 2009 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645242)
So it would be flagrant technical because the contact occurred during dead-ball. I got it now. Thanks TJ.

I feel like I am piling on. But...no...contact between a player and an official is not "live ball contact" the way you are suggesting. It does not matter if the ball is live or dead...if a player intentionally contacts an official, it is a technical foul (10-3-7a) and in your situation, I would also deem it a flagrant foul.

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 645260)
I feel like I am piling on. But...no...contact between a player and an official is not "live ball contact" the way you are suggesting. It does not matter if the ball is live or dead...if a player intentionally contacts an official, it is a technical foul (10-3-7a) and in your situation, I would also deem it a flagrant foul.

Actually it is 10-3-6a what you're talking about, but thanks for the reference.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 23, 2009 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645234)
Oh, really? I thought Flagrant technical and personal fouls were all still under the classification of Flagrant, which would put the ball at POI. Thanks for correcting me. But I can't find anything in the book about the difference between flagrant personal and flagrant technical.

All fouls are either Personal or Technical.

They *might* also have an additional qualifer -- common, flagrant, intentional, double, etc.

The penalty for a single T includes a throw-in at the division line. IF there's a throw-in for a P, it's near the spot of the foul.

And, there's no POI for any single foul, flagrant or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1