![]() |
Over & Back?
Ball is being inbounded. Offensive player jumps from front court, catches ball, and lands completely in back court. Over & Back?
|
Quote:
|
No team control on an inbound.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In this scenario, there is team control with frontcourt status when the ball is caught. But by exception it is allowed. Also, to the OP, it doesn't matter if the player lands totally in the backcourt, or even if he comes down with a foot in the frontcourt then a foot in the backcourt. He is allowed to land normally. |
Quote:
There is team control, and the ball is in the frontcourt as soon as the offensive player catches the ball. When the player lands in the backcourt, all the conditions for a BC violation have been met. Without the specific wording allowing this play (and the defensive player, and the jump ball), this would be a violation. |
Quote:
|
I Saw The Mythbusters Signal In The Sky ...
During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
2. Jump ball 3. Defensive player making a steal. |
Quote:
No need for the "exceptions" -- nor any need for the end of the exceptions, etc. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
So are you of the opinion that the following plays should not be violations?: 1-While Team A is advancing the ball from their backcourt, A1, in the backcourt, passes to A2, who jumps from the frontcourt, catches the ball and lands in the backcourt. 2-While Team A is advancing the ball from their backcourt, A1, in the backcourt, passes to A2 who is standing with 1 foot in the frontcourt and the other foot off the floor. A2 places his foot on the floor in the backcourt. I'm just curious as to your thoughts and what you think is fair. Also, it seems that a team is restricted by one of these two things while they are in team control: a) not being able to go back into the backcourt; or b) having a 10 second backcourt count. My opinion is that when you make a change to the backcourt rule (exceptions excluded because they don't involve team control), then you probably must make a corresponding change to the 10 second rule to enable the count to be continued. I think this might make for some very confusing verbiage, but I might be wrong. |
Quote:
One problem with the proposed change, though, is that if A1 passes (from the BC) to A2 (in the FC), and A2 just holds the ball, the count would (or should) continue. Then if A2 passes back to A1 (still in the BC), that's a legal play. I think the current definitions are fine. I'd just like to see the exceptions applied to everyone who first gains TC (treating the excpetions as "examples" and not as "inclusive list"). |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18am. |