The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Bulter Game - taking time off the clock (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56009-bulter-game-taking-time-off-clock.html)

APG Sun Dec 20, 2009 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 644348)
Question about the rule as it appears now. What is the time limit for reviewing and making the clock adjustment? Is it only on that dead ball which immediately follows the error?

Rule 2-13-2...

c. Timing.
1. Determine whether the game clock or shot clock malfunctioned. A correction to the game clock must be made in the half or extra period in which it occurred. A correction to the shot clock must be made in the shot clock period in which it occurred.

CMHCoachNRef Sun Dec 20, 2009 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by StripesOhio (Post 644252)
Butler is in Indianapolis.

From the Horizon League Network Blog:


Official Referee Explanation of the Butler-Xavier Game

Adam Coppinger · December 19, 2009

Here is the official explanation of the ruling at the end of the Butler-Xavier game:


Statement From Today’s Game Officials

The game clock was erroneously stopped at 14.7 seconds. When we put (on) the stopwatch to see how long the clock had erroneously stopped, 1.3 seconds had elapsed.

The shot by the Butler player was released at 1.8 seconds. The ball went through the net at 1.2 seconds and the clock stopped correctly.

Because we lost 1.3 seconds, that time is deducted from the remaining 1.2 seconds, officially ending the game

This release was handed to all members of the media following the conclusion of today’s game.

We’ll have plenty more from this game, and the incredible finish at Cleveland State, on this very blog over the next few days. Be sure to check back for our thoughts on these insane finishes.

Tags: Butler - Men's Basketball · Horizon League - Men's Basketball


===



From my understanding, they did EXACTLY what was supposed to be done.

Would have been interesting to see if they would have waved the shot off if it had been TAKEN with 1.2 seconds remaining by the stop watch.

APG Sun Dec 20, 2009 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TonyT (Post 644341)
Shove the rule book up your a** and use common sense. to play the game properly the players have to know how much time they have to shoot the ball. This is the stupidiest thing I have ever heard.

Quite easy to say when it's not your job/schedule that's on the line if you don't do it by the book. :rolleyes:

bob jenkins Sun Dec 20, 2009 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TonyT (Post 644341)
Shove the rule book up your a** and use common sense. to play the game properly the players have to know how much time they have to shoot the ball. This is the stupidiest thing I have ever heard.

Thank you. Your team played well.

Spence Sun Dec 20, 2009 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 644335)
Of course not.

The officials did the right thing by rule. Whenever someone messes up (in this instance the timer) near the end of the game, one team gets "screwed" no matter how the problem is fixed. In this instance the rules committee has decided that the best of the poor choices is to do what they did.

Thanks. I didn't think you could but an article today said that they could have.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 20, 2009 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 644349)
Rule 2-13-2...

c. Timing.
1. Determine whether the game clock or shot clock malfunctioned. A correction to the game clock must be made in the half or extra period in which it occurred. A correction to the shot clock must be made in the shot clock period in which it occurred.

It is true that the timing correction must be made in the half or extra period in which it occurred and not later, but there is more to the restrictions than just that. The correction actually must be made within the CE timeframe.

For games without a monitor:
================================================
RULE 5
Section 11. Timing Mistakes and Malfunctions
The following articles pertain to mistakes and malfunctions in games played
without a replay/television equipment. For timing mistakes and malfunctions
in games with replay/television equipment, see Rule 2-13.
Art. 1. When an obvious timing mistake has occurred because of the failure
to start or stop the game clock properly, the mistake shall be corrected only
when the referee has definite information relative to the time involved. After
the mistake of either starting or stopping the game clock, such a mistake
shall be corrected during the first dead ball but before the next/second live
ball is touched inbounds or out of bounds by a player other than the throwerin.
When the clock should have been continuously running, the mistake
shall be corrected before the second live ball is touched inbounds or out of
bounds by a player other than the thrower-in.

=====================================
For game with a courtside monitor:

Section 13. Games with Replay/Television Equipment
Art. 1. Courtside replay equipment, videotape or television monitoring must
be located on a designated courtside table (i.e., within approximately 3 to
12 feet of the playing court), in order to be utilized by game officials. An
on-screen graphic display on the monitor may be used only when the display
is synchronized with the official game clock.
Art 2. Officials may use such available equipment only in the following
situations:...
c. Timing.

1. Determine whether the game clock or shot clock malfunctioned. A
correction to the game clock must be made in the half or extra period
in which it occurred. A correction to the shot clock must be made in
the shot clock period in which it occurred.
2. Determine whether a timing mistake has occurred in either starting or
stopping the game clock. Determination is based on the judgment of
the official. After the mistake to either start or stop the game clock,
such a mistake shall be corrected during the first dead ball or during
the next live ball but before the ball is touched inbounds or out of
bounds by a player. When the clock should have been continuously
running, the mistake shall be corrected before the second live ball is
touched inbounds or out of bounds by a player.
No timing mistake
correction shall be carried over from one half or extra period
to another. Such a mistake shall be corrected before the start of
intermission.

A Pennsylvania Coach Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gslefeb (Post 644193)
Also, the backcourt with 16 secs left to play, I thought white touch the ball before the ball had back court status.

Agreed. I'm pretty certain they missed the back court call. As soon as the first defensive touch happened, the T went into his "tipped ball" mechanic that he repeated about 28 times while ignoring the fact that white touched it last in the front court and first in the back court, as if it didn't matter.

Judtech Mon Dec 21, 2009 09:13pm

Did anyone else thing there should have been a foul called on #25 as he went after the ball and took out the legs of the Butler player? Or that the Butler player may have traveled as he had the ball while "seated" and then stood up to pass?
I really thought there should have been a foul but that is why I was home enjoying the snow and they were doing a big time game!:D

JRutledge Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 644677)
Did anyone else thing there should have been a foul called on #25 as he went after the ball and took out the legs of the Butler player? Or that the Butler player may have traveled as he had the ball while "seated" and then stood up to pass?
I really thought there should have been a foul but that is why I was home enjoying the snow and they were doing a big time game!:D

Not a foul. Maybe a travel but the ball was really loose so I can live with what was not called.

Peace

Nevadaref Tue Dec 22, 2009 02:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 644677)
Did anyone else thing there should have been a foul called on #25 as he went after the ball and took out the legs of the Butler player? Or that the Butler player may have traveled as he had the ball while "seated" and then stood up to pass?
I really thought there should have been a foul but that is why I was home enjoying the snow and they were doing a big time game!:D

The player for Butler was in a low squat, but I don't believe that either of his knees were touching the floor when he obtained control of the ball. If you look closely, you will see that his right leg is on the opponent, not the floor, and we can't see his left knee from this camera angle.

Spence Tue Dec 22, 2009 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 644536)
Agreed. I'm pretty certain they missed the back court call. As soon as the first defensive touch happened, the T went into his "tipped ball" mechanic that he repeated about 28 times while ignoring the fact that white touched it last in the front court and first in the back court, as if it didn't matter.

Is the back court violation rule the same in NCAA as it is in NFHS? Specifically, does the fact that it was tipped by the defender off of the offensive player have any impact?

tjones1 Tue Dec 22, 2009 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 644861)
Is the back court violation rule the same in NCAA as it is in NFHS? Specifically, does the fact that it was tipped by the defender off of the offensive player have any impact?

Yes, it's the same.

If the ball is tipped by the defender and touches the offensive player in the frontcourt and the offensive is the first to touch in the backcourt it is a violation.

Team-control, last to touch in your frontcourt, first to touch in your backcourt = violation.

BBall_Junkie Tue Dec 22, 2009 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 644373)
Thank you. Your team played well, but lost anyway.

Fixed your response for you Bob!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1