The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Continuous Motion? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55944-continuous-motion.html)

Reffing Rev. Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:40am

Continuous Motion?
 
A1 drives along the endline and secures the ball in her left hand as she jumps for a layup. She is fouled by B1 in the air and the ball pops out of her left hand...while in the air she grabs the ball with both hands in front of her chest and then throws up the ball with the right hand. Ball enters basket. What do you got?

mbyron Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:44am

No basket, the try ended when she recovered the ball. 2 shots.

Adam Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:46am

Ouch, I hate this call.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 642982)
No basket, the try ended when she recovered the ball. 2 shots.

Agreed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 642983)
Ouch, I hate this call.


Why?

Adam Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:58am

Not in principal, I would just hate to take this basket away on a very athletic play. It makes sense, and it's the right call; I'd just have a sinking feeling in my chest if I made it.

Raymond Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 642982)
No basket, the try ended when she recovered the ball. 2 shots.

Is there or has there ever been a case play or rules interp for this play?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 642998)
Is there or has there ever been a case play or rules interp for this play?


I don't recall one for that play specifically, but a try ends when it is certain it will be unsuccessful, and a try that is grabbed out of the air certainly meets that standard.

mbyron Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 642998)
Is there or has there ever been a case play or rules interp for this play?

Bob has referenced 4-41-4, which defines when a try ends. Note that merely touching the ball does not end a try (4.41.4 A).

Anchor Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 643009)
I don't recall one for that play specifically, but a try ends when it is certain it will be unsuccessful, and a try that is grabbed out of the air certainly meets that standard.

Excellent applicaton

Raymond Wed Dec 16, 2009 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. (Post 642978)
A1 drives along the endline and secures the ball in her left hand as she jumps for a layup. She is fouled by B1 in the air and the ball pops out of her left hand...while in the air she grabs the ball with both hands in front of her chest and then throws up the ball with the right hand. Ball enters basket. What do you got?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 643009)
I don't recall one for that play specifically, but a try ends when it is certain it will be unsuccessful, and a try that is grabbed out of the air certainly meets that standard.

Not saying who's right or wrong, just trying to further the debate. I don't know that I would deem the action from Rev's scenario as the try starting and ending.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 16, 2009 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 643055)
Not saying who's right or wrong, just trying to further the debate. I don't know that I would deem the action from Rev's scenario as the try starting and ending.

"Jump for the layup" is pretty much the try starting (well, it probably started earlier, but this makes it clear that there is a try in progess).

"Grabs the ball with both hands" is pretty much the end of the try.

If you want to say "the ball pops out of her left hand" is also the end of the try (since she might not have "released the ball"), I could agree in theory with that -- as a practical matter, I'm still calling that part of the try.

Raymond Wed Dec 16, 2009 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. (Post 642978)
A1 drives along the endline and secures the ball in her left hand as she jumps for a layup. She is fouled by B1 in the air and the ball pops out of her left hand...while in the air she grabs the ball with both hands in front of her chest and then throws up the ball with the right hand. Ball enters basket. What do you got?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 643059)
"Jump for the layup" is pretty much the try starting (well, it probably started earlier, but this makes it clear that there is a try in progess).

"Grabs the ball with both hands" is pretty much the end of the try.

If you want to say "the ball pops out of her left hand" is also the end of the try (since she might not have "released the ball"), I could agree in theory with that -- as a practical matter, I'm still calling that part of the try.

Philosophically speaking I personally don't see "...while in the air she grabs the ball with both hands in front of her chest" as ending the try as I don't see ""in the air and the ball pops out of her left hand" as the beginning of the throw or as releasing the ball on a try.

mbyron Wed Dec 16, 2009 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 643055)
Not saying who's right or wrong, just trying to further the debate. I don't know that I would deem the action from Rev's scenario as the try starting and ending.

Well, think of it this way: if it were a more ordinary case, she was fouled on the way up, and she released the ball, wouldn't you be calling a shooting foul? Even if the release was "awkward" or "ugly"? So that's probably the start of a try.

The rule specifically states that the try ends "when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful," as Bob has stated. When she catches it, the ball is headed AWAY from the basket. At that point, I'm pretty certain that the throw is unsuccessful.

The ball making two distinct trips toward the basket/backboard -- interrupted by a trip away -- must count as two distinct tries, IMO.

BBrules Wed Dec 16, 2009 02:24pm

Try?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. (Post 642978)
A1 drives along the endline and secures the ball in her left hand as she jumps for a layup. She is fouled by B1 in the air and the ball pops out of her left hand...while in the air she grabs the ball with both hands in front of her chest and then throws up the ball with the right hand. Ball enters basket. What do you got?

I just have a question: It seems from this sit that the ball was knocked from her hand rather than her actually shooting it. Does this still qualify as a 'try'? I may not be reading this right, but it seems the sequence was up for a shot, ball is knocked from her hand, she recovers ball and shoots with right hand before landing again. Is this correct?

Vinski Wed Dec 16, 2009 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 643073)
The ball making two distinct trips toward the basket/backboard -- interrupted by a trip away -- must count as two distinct tries, IMO.

Is the ball popping out of her hand a distinct trip or simply a fumble?
I’m not saying one way or another because I'm not quite sure. Because if this scenario happens except she never leaves the floor, I would certainly wave the basket. However, if she leaves the floor and fumbles the ball due to contact, recovers and gets the ball off before landing, I think I would count it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1