![]() |
|
|
|||
"Providing the Roster"
I don't have my books handy, but a team is issued a T for something like "failing to provide it's roster and 5 starters to the official scorer at least 10 minutes before the start of the game."
What does "provide" mean? Play: Midway through the third quarter, Visitor 00 enters (otherwise legally) the game. The table buzzes, and indicates that 00 isn't in the book. I asked the table, "What information did the visitors give you to enter in the book?" and the table hands me a printed roster, with no 00. So, I take the sheet to the visitor book (on the bench, not at the table) and ask if that's what they provided. The answer comes, "Yes, and I told the scorer to add 00 to the list." The official scorer denies getting the verbal instruction. So, did the visitors comply with the rule, or did they earn a T? |
|
|||
I don't have my books to read the exact rule, but I'd assess the T in this instance. There certainly is no way for you to know if the verbal instruction was given or not, for one thing, but secondly, I would judge "provide" to mean something more than just "add 00 to the list," especially if it's said in a way that doesn't provide assurance that the player was added.
|
|
|||
Quote:
What didn't the R catch that one book had more players than the other?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
We do typically count players warming up and make sure there are more in the book than on the court. |
|
|||
Quote:
Given that the visitors were behind something like 49-27 when this came up, and given the visitor's scorekeeper's (who was a HS kid at a religious school -- the game was between two schools that aren't even part of the IHSA)assertion that he told ("supplied") the home scorekeeper to add the name, I decided that the best thing to do was ignore the T. That doesn't mean that's what I'd do in a different circumstance -- thus my question as to what "supply" means. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The Provisions State ...
Same in Connecticut.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
JRut is correct that this is a bit of a hole in the rules in terms of definition. In Central Ohio, we also count players and employ an "at least x number". In addition, I check that the two books match player countwise (customarily, we are asked to sign both books). My attempt at logic here is the following: 1. The team was able to put the rest of the roster on paper with all names, numbers and starters listed. 2. A PENCIL/PEN was available at the scorer's table. 3. The visiting team had an opportunity to pick up said PENCIL/PEN to simply update their preprinted roster. Conclusion: If team is behind by less than 20 points, I would issue a "T" (I call this the Jenkins Rule). I quite probably would have done what Bob did in this situation. But, had it been a competitive game, the team's decision to take a short cut would have been penalized. If we start accepting verbal communication in such cases, a whole can of worms with which we do not wish to deal would be opened. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight | pizanno | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am |
"Filling in Roster" in ASA rec tournament | IamMatt | Softball | 3 | Wed May 16, 2007 11:07am |
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? | PAT THE REF | Baseball | 60 | Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm |