The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violation or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55749-violation-not.html)

jdw3018 Wed Dec 09, 2009 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaCoach (Post 641036)
dbking, thanks for your reply and the information. Rule 9, section 5 states, "A player shall not dribble a second time after his first dribble has ended, unless it is after he has lost control because of;
1. A try for goal (my point on this whole situation)
2. A touch by opponent
3. A pass or fumble that was then touch by an opponent.

Why wouldn't there be a number 4? A pass off of his own backboard which he then catches would allow him to dribble again.

I am back to the beginning, I still think if he does not try a shot, this is a violation.

Hasn't there been a recent interpretation or change (don't have my casebook) that implies that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 09, 2009 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 641040)
Hasn't there been a recent interpretation or change (don't have my casebook) that implies that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal?


Yes, 9.5 (iirc)

jdw3018 Wed Dec 09, 2009 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 641053)
Yes, 9.5 (iirc)

Thanks. It's been that way in my mind, but I couldn't remember if it was something I read or something I was taught. Or something my mind made up on me.

Any of the three was possible. ;)

M&M Guy Wed Dec 09, 2009 03:43pm

Also, Basketball Rule Fundamental #19: "A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard, it does not constitute part of a dribble."

Scratch85 Wed Dec 09, 2009 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 641040)
Hasn't there been a recent interpretation or change (don't have my casebook) that implies that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 641053)
Yes, 9.5 (iirc)

I know this has been discussed at great length and there are still disagreements about it but I think it's worth noting that 9.5 does not say "any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal." Some may think it implies that but that is their own interpretation.

9.5 states; A teams own backboard is part of that team's equipment and may be used.

4-4-5 states; When the ball touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute part of a dribble.

These are the only two references (rules or case) that I can think of right now that state anything about using your own backboard other than during a try. I'm not completely convinced that these statements imply that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 09, 2009 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 641083)
I'm not completely convinced that these statements imply that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal.

I agree. But, I do think they mean "A1 has lost player control and may regain player control and dribble again"

Scratch85 Wed Dec 09, 2009 04:45pm

Talladega Nights
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 641100)
I agree. But, I do think they mean "A1 has lost player control and may regain player control and dribble again"

Admittedly, I haven't convinced myself of what the Fed expects of us here, but I do know how I am going to call it. Although I'm not going to say how just yet, but I would like to add thought for more disagreement.

This dialogue from Talladega Nights comes to mind

Ricky Bobby: "I said with all due respect"
Dennit: "That doesn't mean you get to say anything you want"
Ricky Bobby: "Sure as heck does, it's in the Geneva Convention, look it up"

I don't think throwing the ball against your own backboard allows a player to break any of the other rules. In my mind it would be just like throwing the ball into the air and it doesn't touch anything. If the ball didn't touch or wasn't touched by another player, we wouldn't allow a second dribble.

These thoughts are as if the throw was not a try. If your feet moved in excess of the limits, it would be travel. If you had already ended your dribble, threw the ball against your own backboard then dribbled again, it would be an illegal dribble. If you were being defended and had not used your dribble, threw the ball over the defenders head against your own backboard, ran around the player and caught the ball, it would be a travel (illegal dribble last year).

Any way, you get the point. I can't wrap my head around why throwing the ball against your own backboard doesn't stand alone as just that, throwing the ball against your own backboard. For some reason, we have stretched it out there to mean we can break other rules once we have recovered it. maybe it's in the Geneva Convention. I'll look it up. :)

BillyMac Wed Dec 09, 2009 07:24pm

Just Don't Call Me Late For Dinner ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 640983)
To be considered a "try", the ball does not have to hit the backboard or rim. The only qualification is that, in the opinion of the official, it was a legitimate try for goal. Definitely, one of the most misunderstood rules. Right BillyBob, er, I mean BillyMac?

The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1