![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Ah, but..
Touching the net while the ball is on the rim is BI. We are not required to judge whether it affected the shot. Just touching it is enough.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Beyond that, I've forgotten the context of my earlier comment.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
We all agree....
We all agree that hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim is a rare occasion. However, what I don't understand is the reluctance to make it part of the BI definition. It is such an easy and logically thing to do. If it is so rare, and it is, players are not going to change the way they play defense. If they hit the backboard while the ball is not on the rim, it's nothing and we won't call it. If it is, on that rare occasion, on the rim when contact occurs it should be penalized just like we penalize contact with the rim or net.
Can anyone argue that hitting the backboard while the ball is on the rim should be allowed by the defense? Can you actually say that it is not basket interference? Forget the rarity of the situation. Do you actually believe the defense should be allowed to hit the backboard with the ball on the rim? I'm not asking if it should be included in the rule book. Just should it be allowed? And remember, forget how often this occurs. Look at this in a vacuum. Should this be a legal act?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
As I believe the great Walter C. might have stated this situation:
NFHS 2009 -2010. It is what it is and that's the way it shall be.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
|
|
|||
|
Here's my last comment, i think
Quote:
Team A is down by 2 with 2 seconds on the clock. The ball is on the rim when B1 bangs the board in frustration. The ball falls off the rim. No basket. T up B1. A1 shoots the two free throws but misses the front end. They are down by 1 with .4 seconds left. They inbound the ball but can't get a shot off. Team B wins. Why allow the defense an advantage in this situation? A simple change to the BI definition (not a new rule as you suggest) would fix this. I could then award 2 points to team A and also penalize with a Technical foul.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
How often is the touch REALLY part of "a legitimate block attempt?"
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
In my view, it's usually an attempt to make a spectacle of oneself, right up there with yelling "AAAAAAAAAA!!"
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove Last edited by just another ref; Tue Nov 24, 2009 at 06:31pm. |
|
||||
|
Then call the T. I've not seen it that way, as every time I've seen the backboard slapped it's been in a legitimate block attempt. Harder than necessary? Maybe, but that's not for me to decide.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Goal tending or nothing ? | mick | Basketball | 1 | Sun May 24, 2009 08:52am |
| Goal Tending | scotties7125 | Basketball | 19 | Sun Jan 27, 2008 03:34pm |
| goal tending | ohad_d | Basketball | 0 | Sat Jan 04, 2003 04:19pm |
| goal tending | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 19, 2002 11:45am |