The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member

Question 1st year questions

1. Why do some vets use the minimal verbal signals when administering free throws and reporting fouls, but say "Going Down" or "Staying here." on throw ins? It's very confusing for jr high especially.

2. Am I in the minority in my belief that more Delay of Game warnings and DOG technical fouls should be called for knocking the ball away after scoring a basket?

Last edited by dsqrddgd909; Wed Nov 18, 2009 at 08:24am. Reason: clarify after reading first respones
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member

1) I am a vet and I have never said, "going down." I don't even know what that means. I know what "staying here" means, but I never use that either. When a ball goes out of bounds, I raise my arm to stop the clock and then point the direction while verbalizing the color. Don't assume that every "vet" does things right or even that they are high quality officials. In fact, if they are still doing a lot of jr. high ball, there may be a reason (not that there is anything wrong with working lower levels whatsoever).

2) I would have to see specific plays to say whether or not a delay-of-game should be called. Was the game delayed due to the action? I have seen offensive teams tap the ball towards the endline after a basket when it actually assisted the other team in getting a quicker throw-in. No delay there (although I usually tell them to "leave the ball alone after a made hoop" as we're coming up the floor).
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 11:30pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

1. For throwins, point and "color" is all I do. Normally, I just point. On free throws, only give what's needed (again). No one is listening anyway, so there's no point in getting verbose.