![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
To address the comments about penalizing the individual vs the team... While the offender is a single individual, he is part of the team. As a member of the team, his actions are and should be expected to impact the team. That is the essences of a team. They are each connected and they succeed or fail together. Everything an individual does affect the team. We don't give the team the ball back just because a single player takes an ill-advised shot, ignore T when a player calls the excess time-out, or ignore an obvious personal foul when it is a strategically and tactically dumb play . All of these affect the team and may make them lose. Basketball has no method of penalizing an individual without it affecting the team. If you don't call the forfeit, other players may still try it another time if they think it may make them win (if the shooter misses the FTs). Regarding the comments about giving 3 points for the T. I don't think we can do that (although it makes sense). We either have to make it a personal foul (which I don't think we can since personal fouls are commited by a player and not by bench personnel) or it has to be a T for 2 shots....and anyone may take the FTs. [Edited by Camron Rust on Aug 2nd, 2002 at 04:20 PM] |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Looking at the summary of penalties
5. Fouled in the act of shooting(this player was shooting) b. 3 free throws on a unsuccessful 3 pt. try plus ball for throw in if intentional or flagrant. if the shot is unsuccessful 2FT for T on A6 for illegal entry + indirect for head coach 3FT (b1 to shoot) for flagrant on A6 + ejection + indirect for head coach. Ball to team B at closest spot. Game report to state or conference commisioner(let them decide to forfiet or not) if the shot is successful Score 3 pts for B 2FT for T on A6 for illegal entry + indirect for head coach 2FT (b1 to shoot) for flagrant on A6 + ejection + indirect for head coach. Ball to team B at closest spot. Game report to state or conference commisioner I can live with that. |
|
|||
Quote:
Summary of Penalties for all Fouls: (5) Fouled in act of shooting and try/tap is unsuccessful: a. Two free throws on a two-point try or tap. b. Three free throws on a three-point try or tap. Plus ball for throw-in if intentional or flagrant. This section does not require that the foul be personal - just against the shooter. I'd be willing to stretch this and say a flagrant/intentional T would be worth 3 shots in this case.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Ain't no such thing as a "flagrant intentional." Check the long thread about the new "swinging elbows violation signal" for a full discussion.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
By looking at the definitions in section 19 (NF)
Art 3. An intentional foul is a personal or "technical foul" designed to stop or keep the clock from starting, "to neutralize an opponents obvious advantageous position",...... Art 5. A technical fouls is: a. A foul by a nonplayer I think we may have a case for an Intentional Technical foul on A6's contact with B1 while he is shooting. |
|
|||
Quote:
Mark, check rule 4-19-4. It explains that a flagrant foul "may or may not be intentional." I was in a freshman boys game a couple years ago where, in a hotly contested game, a player was going for a fastbreak layup and while airborne, the opponent closing in fast, dropped his head and shoulders and upended the shooter landing him on his head. We naturally tossed the player. We didn't use any verbage but it was obviously intentional and flagrant. As far as the above thread goes, as I understand the rule, whenever you have an intentional foul on a shooter, if the shot was not good, then the 2 or in this case 3 shots would be taken and then they get the ball back. In other words, you don't shoot the normal 2 shots for the intentional. If the basket had been good, then the shooter would get 2 shots and the ball back for an intentional foul. So, in the above situation, if you called the foul on the shooter an intentional instead of a technical, he would get his 3 shots rather than just get the 2 for the tech. [Edited by Ralph Stubenthal on Aug 4th, 2002 at 11:30 AM] |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Yes, it qualifies as either, but you can only assess one - otherwise, the player would attempt 4(6) free throws. Quote:
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
||||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
A foul must be, at the least, personal or technical. On top of a personal or technical designation, you can add qualifiers such as "flagrant," "common," "intentional," "player-control," etc. (within limits, of course - obviously you can't have a common technical foul). For a full explaination of all this, see thread 5469 - http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...?threadid=5469 - I think most everyone here has beaten this issue into the ground. ![]()
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|