![]() |
|
|
|||
The relevant phrase isn't "secure the ball", it's "secure the ball at the end line." All three things (TO, at disposal, count) occur at the same time. |
|
|||
So I should translate "secures the ball for the throw-in" to mean "secure the ball at the end line"? I hope that is what you are saying because that fits perfectly with my screwed up logic.
![]() Last edited by Scratch85; Thu Nov 05, 2009 at 04:35pm. |
|
|||
Wow, taking a shot at me with only your 2nd post!
![]() BTW the NFHS has already provided an answer to the question posed in the OP. One can find it in our Past Interps Archive. 2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|