The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 08:38am
Official Forum Member

New Ref Advice

I am a new member to your board so if this issue has been addressed, then I apologize in advance. I did read over the thread about mentoring new refs (noobies) and it was helpful. The question I pose here is this: What advice can you give me as I start out this season? I have NO experience, never played the game, and only coached it a couple of times at the YMCA. (Yes, I hear the groans from here). Having said that, I do love the game and have been "working" at the local Y as a ref. I have been studying the rules book, attended all the county training & meetings, and have watched games (middle school mainly as the season isn't underway yet), but short of actually getting out on the court, which will come in time, what can I do to help myself and the refs who dare to call games with me?

Thanks for any help you can give me....
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 08:46am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by garn05 View Post
I am a new member to your board so if this issue has been addressed, then I apologize in advance. I did read over the thread about mentoring new refs (noobies) and it was helpful. The question I pose here is this: What advice can you give me as I start out this season? I have NO experience, never played the game, and only coached it a couple of times at the YMCA. (Yes, I hear the groans from here). Having said that, I do love the game and have been "working" at the local Y as a ref. I have been studying the rules book, attended all the county training & meetings, and have watched games (middle school mainly as the season isn't underway yet), but short of actually getting out on the court, which will come in time, what can I do to help myself and the refs who dare to call games with me?